We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a motel”
Review of 151 on London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
151 on London
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was the only motel we stayed in on our new Zealand tour. We hate motels. However as motels go this was definitely better than average. Clean, modern, well decorated rooms.
Facilities to heat/cook small meals.
The WiFi internet was dreadful. The only place we stayed where we could not send emails.
Will not stay again.
Wanganui is a lovely town with great walks by the river. A good selection of restaurants

Room Tip: not near the main road
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Yes we are just a motel that is well appointed and comfortable. Rooms further from the road are best for those who like it particularly quiet and these are always subject to availability. We are on a bypass so traffic is expected. Its great to see that our guests enjoy our recommendations of what to see and do in Wanganui. We are proud of our River and the access to it our visitors have. Unfortunately our internet does let us down on occasions, however we ensure we are reviewing what we offer so that our service better meets the needs of our guests.
Kind Regards
Michael & Prue Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for 151 on London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very modern and comfortable units.Have stayed here on business 4 or 5 times and will continue to do so.The studio units are well designed with very comfortable beds and an excellent bathroom.Very friendly and efficient service from office/reception.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. We do get a lot of feedback regarding our comfortable beds so thank you for affirming that on Trip Advisor. We look forward to hosting you again.
Kind Regards
Michael & Prue Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Good, clean motel with everything you needed supplied. Friendly hosts and good position. The beds were very comfortable and the 2 bed apartment excellent for a weekend away with our daughter. Would certainly return again. Wanganui worth a visit if touring North Ireland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LymingtonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review we appreciate it. Our two bedroom units are great for that extra space and our cleaning team do an awesome job. Kind Regards Michael & Prue Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed one night in a Studio Unit.While it was compact it had everything we needed,including crockery and coffee pot!The best pillows I have ever slept on are well worth mentioning.Very modern and lovely décor.Lovely greeting and made to feel welcome by owner.
The only negative I found was it would have been nice to have a sheer drape at front window/door for privacy as the balcony on Level 1 serves as a walkway to stairs.

Room Tip: Would probably recommend a ground floor as a bit more private?
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staffydog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback. We welcome your improvement suggestion which we have duly noted in our "improvements & ideas" book.
Best Wishes and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Michael & Prue Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We called within 3 hours and left a message we are cancelling our booking due family reasons. And Three days later we were told we are getting charged because there was no message in the voice mailbox PLUS 3% charge to top it up!

We had a funeral to go too and for them taking that long to say there are no message is just awful!

Be careful as the promise of putting it on HOLD is NOT TRUE! even when we did come back within three hours that we didn't need it and left a message!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Bernice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Guest rang and made her booking on Saturday morning. Guest was offered to put a hold on the booking which she declined as she definitely wanted the booking for the Saturday night. No further correspondence is recalled by our Motel Minder from this lady.
As per our policy we follow up "No Shows" and advise that the next course of action is to make a manual charge on their credit card we have on file. As this ends up being a manual credit card transaction ie; card/guest not present we charge 3% on the total amount owing.
This was explained to her on the phone when the owner rang on the Monday.

We advise that motel management had decided to not take payment from this lady's account, therefore no charges have been levied.

For all guests information please be advised that all bookings whether they are "holds" or "confirmed ' they are contracts that you have entered into and conditions apply in terms of cancellation which are clearly stated on the confirmation forms and our website.

We as owners were away for a week. We are very fortunate we have an awesome Motel Minder who did a fantastic job and whom we have had great feedback from those guests who stayed during her time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed one night at 151 on London and were very happy with the service and the cleanliness of the accommodation. The motel is quite new (about 5 years old in 2014) and well designed. They have a lovely children's playground as well as a small gym. There is a great café located on site also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for feedback we appreciate it. Our playground is great for the children to stretch their legs after long journeys.
Kind Regards
Michael & Prue Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We recently stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Location: Pretty good - within a short walk to local amenities and a 30 minute walk to the riverside. Value for money: Good. Room - Nice size, well equipped kitchenette, comfortable beds, bathroom well stocked with essential items. Staff: Helpful and friendly, without being in your face. Developmental points: Bedrooms (upstairs, flat roof) oppressively stuffy, no fans. Windows: Could not be left open due to traffic noise from the main road next to the hotel. Furniture: The sofa and seats in the main room are made from black vinyl and we quickly found ourselves sticking to them; the solution - we ended up sitting on bath towels! Would I recommend the hotel: Yes - a few tweaks to the room such as providing fans upstairs and throws on the furniture would sort out an niggles. Generally, a pleasant stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank oldbadger1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Your feedback and suggestions are appreciated, thank you. We have duly noted your improvement recommendations in our improvements/ideas book. We look forward to hosting you in the future should the opportunity arise.
Kind Regards
Michael & Prue Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.3 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 151 on London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 151 on London

Address: 151 London Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: $99 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 151 on London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive guest facility (Opened 2009) set in lovely gardens is waiting your enjoyment, 26 air conditioned modern suites with Studio's, 1 bedroom suites with luxury spa baths and 2 bedroom family suites. All suites have 43" LG Smart TVs connected to WIFI with built in Netflix, Lightbox & YouTube. Bring your HDMI cord and Miracast from your device. All Suites have tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, toaster and fridge. FREE WIFI/broadband available, safe in every room, Guest Gym, BBQ area and children's playground that includes a trampoline. Kristy's Cafe is on site and opens 7 days a week from 7am to 5pm. Only a short stroll to the Splash Centre, Springvale Stadium, restaurants and fastfood outlets. Lovely bush out look at the north end of town on State Highway 3. Lots of FREE off street parking with 24 hour camera surveillance. Conference/Function venue available. Michael & Prue offer you a friendly warm stay that will meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your 151 on London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing