We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Friendly Motel!”
Review of 151 on London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
151 on London
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Friendly Motel!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed one night in a Studio Unit.While it was compact it had everything we needed,including crockery and coffee pot!The best pillows I have ever slept on are well worth mentioning.Very modern and lovely décor.Lovely greeting and made to feel welcome by owner.
The only negative I found was it would have been nice to have a sheer drape at front window/door for privacy as the balcony on Level 1 serves as a walkway to stairs.

Room Tip: Would probably recommend a ground floor as a bit more private?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffydog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback. We welcome your improvement suggestion which we have duly noted in our "improvements & ideas" book.
Best Wishes and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Michael & Prue Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    19
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
29
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We called within 3 hours and left a message we are cancelling our booking due family reasons. And Three days later we were told we are getting charged because there was no message in the voice mailbox PLUS 3% charge to top it up!

We had a funeral to go too and for them taking that long to say there are no message is just awful!

Be careful as the promise of putting it on HOLD is NOT TRUE! even when we did come back within three hours that we didn't need it and left a message!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Guest rang and made her booking on Saturday morning. Guest was offered to put a hold on the booking which she declined as she definitely wanted the booking for the Saturday night. No further correspondence is recalled by our Motel Minder from this lady.
As per our policy we follow up "No Shows" and advise that the next course of action is to make a manual charge on their credit card we have on file. As this ends up being a manual credit card transaction ie; card/guest not present we charge 3% on the total amount owing.
This was explained to her on the phone when the owner rang on the Monday.

We advise that motel management had decided to not take payment from this lady's account, therefore no charges have been levied.

For all guests information please be advised that all bookings whether they are "holds" or "confirmed ' they are contracts that you have entered into and conditions apply in terms of cancellation which are clearly stated on the confirmation forms and our website.

We as owners were away for a week. We are very fortunate we have an awesome Motel Minder who did a fantastic job and whom we have had great feedback from those guests who stayed during her time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed one night at 151 on London and were very happy with the service and the cleanliness of the accommodation. The motel is quite new (about 5 years old in 2014) and well designed. They have a lovely children's playground as well as a small gym. There is a great café located on site also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for feedback we appreciate it. Our playground is great for the children to stretch their legs after long journeys.
Kind Regards
Michael & Prue Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Location: Pretty good - within a short walk to local amenities and a 30 minute walk to the riverside. Value for money: Good. Room - Nice size, well equipped kitchenette, comfortable beds, bathroom well stocked with essential items. Staff: Helpful and friendly, without being in your face. Developmental points: Bedrooms (upstairs, flat roof) oppressively stuffy, no fans. Windows: Could not be left open due to traffic noise from the main road next to the hotel. Furniture: The sofa and seats in the main room are made from black vinyl and we quickly found ourselves sticking to them; the solution - we ended up sitting on bath towels! Would I recommend the hotel: Yes - a few tweaks to the room such as providing fans upstairs and throws on the furniture would sort out an niggles. Generally, a pleasant stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank oldbadger1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Your feedback and suggestions are appreciated, thank you. We have duly noted your improvement recommendations in our improvements/ideas book. We look forward to hosting you in the future should the opportunity arise.
Kind Regards
Michael & Prue Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This was a terrific find, thanks to all the tripadvisor reviews before me recommending 151 on London!

Stayed 2 quiet nights in this clean, well positioned motel and was pleasantly pleased. If US motels were like this, I would consider staying at them rather than turning the other way.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dap42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We wish you all the best for 2014.
Kind Regards
Prue & Michael Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Partner & I stayed for 1 night in the executive suite (No. 23) & it was clean & modern. It was just what we needed esp. after having gone rafting & having driven from River Valley Lodge. There is also a big bathtub with which I treated myself to a hot bubble bath. Staff are super friendly. Highly recommend this place!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Loi we appreciate it. Our area has some great adventures and we are pleased that you got to experience the rafting and to treat yourself here at 151. Best wishes for 2014.
Kind Regards
Prue & Michael Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My family and I like to stay in two bedroom apartments for the convenience of having lots of room and cooking facilities. This room was perfect and very well equipped. It is within walking distance of three major supermarket outlets.
Michael the host was very friendly and helpful making our stay even better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151onLondon, Owner at 151 on London, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you Liz for your review we appreciate it. Our family units certainly provide good space for larger groups and your feedback assists other traveler's in making their choice of where to stay.
We wish you well for 2014.

Kind Regards
Prue & Michael Meehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.3 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
1.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#8 of 26 in Whanganui
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#6 of 26 in Whanganui
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 151 on London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 151 on London

Property: 151 on London
Address: 151 London Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 151 on London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive guest facility (Opened 2009) set in lovely gardens is waiting your enjoyment, 26 air conditioned modern suites with Studio's, 1 bedroom suites with luxury spa baths and 2 bedroom family suites. All suites have 43" LG Smart TVs connected to WIFI with built in Netflix, Lightbox & YouTube. Bring your HDMI cord and Miracast from your device. All Suites have tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, toaster and fridge. FREE WIFI/broadband available, safe in every room, Guest Gym, BBQ area and children's playground that includes a trampoline. Kristy's Cafe is on site and opens 7 days a week from 7am to 5pm. Only a short stroll to the Splash Centre, Springvale Stadium, restaurants and fastfood outlets. Lovely bush out look at the north end of town on State Highway 3. Lots of FREE off street parking with 24 hour camera surveillance. Conference/Function venue available. Michael & Prue offer you a friendly warm stay that will meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your 151 on London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing