We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passed it's prime but the old girl still retains a sense of charm.”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Passed it's prime but the old girl still retains a sense of charm.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent two nights at the Grand, a 1920's Art Deco hotel in downtown Wanganui. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Despite being in a Hotel with two bars the rooms were very quiet. Continental breakfast is provided but is limited to cereal and toast. There is an Irish pub bar and a 'Breakers' restaurant within the facility. Both are completely out of character with the charm of the building and management should consider removing and upgrading these as soon as possible. What is it with NZ and Irish pubs? You can't go a block without coming across one. Would love to see the theme in the lobby and adjoining space carried through to the rest of the Hotel bars.
Still, I would have no problem with staying at this Hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: I believe there may be some renovated rooms within the Hotel. Would be worth asking for one of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Grand Hotel for 2 nights and for taking the time to write a review. We are working our way through renovating 55 rooms and hopefully will get the bars upgraded sometime this year. We appreciate feedback and next time you are in Wanganui please come and stay and make yourself known to us. Neville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
69
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A nice place to stay, for our two nights in a reasonable priced room which included continental breakfasts. Our dinners in the Irish bar and Breakers restaurant were well priced and enjoyable. Although some of the bar staff were new, we were well looked after by them.
The Grand is located centrally, with adequate car parking behind the hotel.
Thanks to the owner/manager for his hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macaranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Grand Hotel and hope to see you again some day. Neville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was a really nice are of New Zealand, and the hotel is in a great location. The room was clean, large and the staff were great! The food here was really well priced and delicious. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel and taking the time to review us, We are pleased that your stay with us was comfortable, Regards Darron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Nice stay, handy to central town, room we were in needs abit of an update but in all we were comfortable, inside of Hotel n decor is very nice & thoroughly enjoyed viewing all the old paintings that were hanging on the walls, continental breakfast the next morning in Breakers was nice, thanks to staff for service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank and Tina ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Grand Hotel and taking the time to write a review, it's always good to receive positive feedback. Neville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed one night only. The room was well clean and comfortable. They provide tea and coffee making facilities. Unlike many motels, they only have the standard TV channels not even the delayed channels for TV1 and 3. This is not a major issue, as we tend not to spend that much time in the room, however it is one point of difference. Parking is available next to the hotel, but can be filled very quickly during the day. Breakfast was available at Breakers. We did notice that the butter and jams were only available on some tables and none at the servery. Compared to other places, the layout for the breakfast servery was very basic and not very enticing. Breakfast option was either rice bubbles or muesli, fruit salad and toast. However as it was included in a very competitive price it was not a major downside.

There did not seem to be any internet connection certainly no WiFi and today this feature is almost essential, and WiFi should be easy to fit without any or certainly minimal effort.

The hotel is essentially in centre of town and on the corner of 2 major streets. Accordingly the traffic noise at night is quite loud, but thankfully does subside by midnight.

Also be aware that there is a bar on the ground floor. We were advised that during the week there would not be much noise implying that it could get a little noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. We certainly heard nothing from the bar.

Overall a pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davec50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is in need of refurbishment. However it is comfortable and reasonably priced. It has a central location in the city. Ideal for a one or two night stay. Good restaurants nearby. Wanganui is an attractive city and has retained much of its colonial architecture. The Brick House is close by and has well priced home style meals in pleasant surroundings.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the street as it gets the afternoon sun. The other rooms appear to look over the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at The Grand Hotel and taking the time to write a review. Refurbishment is in process at the moment, but with 55 rooms, it takes a while to get all rooms completed. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our attactive River City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Attended the Region Three New Zealand Labour Party Conference there in June.
The venue was wonderful, with the hotel filled with antiques and lovingly looked after by Neville Gorrie.
The Conference dinner was beautifully cooked and there was ample! No skimping here.
With the Irish Bar and Breakers as part of the complex there was plenty to do outside of the political business we were all there for.
Service was perfect, staff couldn't be more helpful and pleasent. This is stepping back in history, but with all the charm; central city Whanganui you couldn't get better!

Room Tip: The Governors room, a huge area for a decent price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were very pleased to host The Labour Party Conference and Dinner and are delighted it was a success. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#8 of 26 in Whanganui
76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.5 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.3 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Corner St. Hill & Guyton Streets, Whanganui 4541, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing