We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed here with my two daughters, who were competing in an artistic roller skating competition in Wanganui.
I found the room dated, and cold. The small oil heater provided was not adequate to heat our room. Unfortunately some noisy party goers outside in the car park, made it hard to sleep.
Enjoyed eating at Breakers Restaurant onsite, and warming up by the huge fireplace. Breakfast was inc in room cost, and was much appreciated.
I would stay again, but not during winter. Staff were approachable, but not keen for us to look at, or change rooms.
Have stayed at better, for similar money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Grand. Unfortunately we have no control over noisy partygoers on the street, but we have replaced the heater in the room you stayed in and would like to thank you for your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 137 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great value, pleasant staff, conveniently located near all Wanganui's amenities. An old but well-preserved relic of times gone by. Comfortable rooms, vary adequate. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LloydNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are proud of our historical listed hotel. Please make yourself known to us on your next visit. Thank you for staying at The Grand Hotel. Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is an older style hotel whose grandeur is a little faded but has appeal because of its character and ambience. The central location is ideal for shopping and access to all major local attractions. Rooms are not luxurious but they are clean, basic amenities are provided and the beds are very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful.Great value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the bar/ restaurant area.Continental Breakfast included in cheap onli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Thank you for staying at The Grand Hotel and for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime. Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Grand. From the moment we walked in the door we were taken back by this beautiful old building. Dining room, ball room, bars even a grand piano!
Staying in the Governors Suite once again we were taken back by the elegance the room had.
The room was modern with leather couches,dining table, bathroom was great with a nice spa bath.
Bed was huge and comfortable the bedroom was once again lovely and decorated in the hotels period. We both enjoyed the art and were happy to wander the halls (like a mini gallery)
I also could get wireless in our room on the second floor which was great.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We found the inhouse bar and restaurants to be very handy after a long day. They made the place a one stop shop which was great. I also thought the breakfast which was included in the price was great and certainly made things easy.
Sure the grand is not your modern spanish white air con motel but i think that if you choose to stay at the Grand you will certainly enjoy it i know we did!
And yes the Governors Suite is certainly worth the extra if you are a couple looking to get away. We will certainly be heading back there for another weekend getaway. We also found Wanganui a great little town with plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Old Lady for eleven days, participating in an international vintage car rally of 700 cars. We were looking for somewhere to 'crash' after a busy schedule, and were pleased with the quality, service and facilities available. We run a business, using the internet, so were pleased that we could get Broadband, albeit in the lounge but it was free. I understand the owners are trying to get this in the rooms, but with an old building, are experiencing difficulties. The room we had was one of the refurbished ones, a bit of traffic noise earlier in the night, but quietened down around midnight. Good to be able to get a reasonably priced meal on site, handy to other restaurants, and walk to town was great. If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel close to the 'action', we thought it was great value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for staying at The Grand Hotel and taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate feedback from guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We were on an international car rally to Wanganui, and stayed there 11 days. We had a bad feeling about going to Wanganui because of price loading by most motels in the area. We booked at the Grand, after reading the reviews so were not expecting a lot. However we were very pleasantly surprised. The decor, being vintage, we liked. Thought there was a good mixture of the old photos and some newer pictures, altho not to my taste. Our room did face Guyton Street (not so busy) and there was some street noise but this was dulled down by shutting the windows. Our room (No 108) was one of the refurbished ones, and very nice. Clean bedding and change of towels each day. Continental breakfast included which was a bonus, as we were up and away most days. We ate there a couple of times at night, and it was a good pub meal. The staff were friendly and helpful, kiwi style I think. Would definitely stay again. Only criticism I have, and it is minor, was the cleaning of the room - a bit hit and miss. Didn't seem to be a routine to it, altho we were there for a longer than usual stay so maybe this threw things out. There are quieter room facing the car park I believe, but we were happy with the noise level as it is inner city. Haven't been to Wanganui for years and thought there was lots of colour, with flowers in hanging baskets, well tended streets. All in all a great time and accommodation that suited us.

Room Tip: Ask for newer room with en suite if required. If some noise concerns you, ask for quieter room. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was a second stay for us at this quaint Hotel. Both were business trips. The hotel rooms we were allocated have been a little tired, but otherwise clean and comfortable. However this is a charming, historical hotel full of ambiance for a reasonable price. If you're looking for a quiet stopover with pleasant staff and character filled accomodation this is your place!

Room Tip: Look before you buy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Thank you for staying with us again. It is always rewarding to see our guests return, and we are happy you enjoyed your time at The Grand Hotel.
We look forward to seeing you next time. Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.4 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#6 of 26 in Whanganui
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Corner St. Hill & Guyton Streets, Whanganui 4541, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: $75 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing