We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aotea Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
151 on London(Whanganui)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiesta Court Motel(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverview Motel(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
$63
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anndion Lodge Motel & Function Centre(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
$50
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutland Arms Inn(Whanganui)
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
92
75
21
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
75
21
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble spa bathmotor lodgeacross the roadawesome spamain roomheat pumpnice balcony to sitbig spaeach monththe main streetplace to staywatch tvcomfortable bedsbedroom apartmentshort drivekitchen areanight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 196 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Good rooms, had a large spa bath, but shower head is of low quality. bed is comfortable, staff very nice, overall ok, but like of the the reviewers, i agree, while the room is very nice, there is no where to sit properly and have a meal or cup of tea with biscuits for example. the room i had, a studio with spa is large, but not very practical , yes, if you have 5 stars you need to put more thought into the practicality of actually staying in the unit. but overall, i enjoyed my stay at this motel. woud recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

From the website and first impressions of the room this looks a really good place, and we certainly agree with the previous comments about the staff and would add that the cleaning staff are amongst the best we have encountered. But after using this room for a while we came to the conclusion that whoever designed it had visited but not stayed in many motels. Whilst the fixtures and fittings were of a high qualiy, the way the room is to be used had not been through through properly.
The gap around the door and the single glazed windows, in a new building, mean that the traffic noise from the nearby busy road and fellow guests leaving at 6am are clearly heard, although no noise was transmitted from room to room. The windows were fitted with privacy glass which seems a good idea, but as the room is so large a couple of steps and you are in a dark spot so you need to put the light on. That defeats the purpose of the privacy glass and also does little for the environment.
Every other motel we stay at of this class has a table or shelf at both sides of the bed for your bits, here only on one side which was inconvenient to say the least. This lack of side table also means there is no bedside light. Their solution is to put a high wattage lamp in the ceiling beaming down on the bed and makes you feel like the suspect being interrogated in a spy movie, not to say making life difficult if one wants to read and the other sleep.
One of the reasons we use motels is so that we do not have to eat every night in restaurants and again they send out a mixed message. High quality cutlery and crockery, but nowhere sensible to eat. The chairs are very comfortable and there is a nice occasional table but not for eating at. There is a desk at the right height, but only one chair.
Others may consider these to be niggling points, but when a motel has five stars on its board, you expect these things to be right and is a pity because they get so many other things right

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The rooms are very clean and good looking. The country is very good for holiday . Its silent. Its good for jogging. The manager ist very supporting for travellers. He gives very good tips. We liked this place. It was one of the best-sleeping times for the holidays in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianneDinslaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

From the minute I was greeted by the desk staff I knew this was an establishment where customer satisfaction came first. The front desk woman gladly showed me the room and noted that the owner believed in providing free internet service since it has become a necessity like telephone service. Later, when I was doing my laundry, I hung out with the front desk woman and the owner's adult daughter and had a great time discussing potential shopping spots, places to visit, etc. Their warmness went beyond the usual polite customer service that most businesses offer. These women really enjoyed what they did for a living. They even booked my next night's stay in Wellington for me.
Like Minnie33 reported in her write-up, the Aotea Motor Lodge was luxurious inside.The more we looked around the more surprised we were about the amenities offered for a reasonable price. Since the facility was super clean we even filmed the toilet flushing for our friends back in the Northern Hemisphere (to prove it flushes the reverse). This place was an unexpected gem which had the friendliest staff we encountered during our six week travels to NZ and AU.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onthegoanywhere42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

In January we went for a road trip, not planning on booking in advance and just turning up at places picked randomly out of the aa book. We were tossing up between 2 different hotels so turned up at Aotea Motor Lodge and asked to see a room. The second we saw the bath we both knew we had to stay! The room would have been enough on it's own, nice clean, modern looking and obviously fairly newly built. However, the double spa bath was the nicest we had seen - it was wide enough for 2 people to lay next to each other in it. My only complaint with it (and not really a big complaint either!) was that if you were on the wall side of the bath it was a bit of a stretch to get to your glass of bubbles!

The bed was huge and really comfortable, the location was really great - several supermarkets within about 2mins walk! Really good for the aforementioned bottle of bubbles!

Another huge plus that you don't often see in NZ Motels was free broadband in room. Made searching for a place for dinner that night really easy :o)

If we are ever in Wanganui I will definately be back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews