We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aotea Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aotea Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Convenient and Clean”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The location was very good and the accommodation was clean, with laundry facilities. There was a double spa bath in the room, which was a surprise, huge bed and very modern and clean bathroom. There was also a microwave in the room for your self catering needs which we had wished we had used instead of MacDonalds...it was a Monday evening and it seemed all the restaurants were closed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
75
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It is a very large room, with a huge spa bath that we didn't use. A corner of the room has a microwave, sink, and refrigerator, but no cooktop, so I couldn't make oatmeal. The WiFi is free and unlimited. Clean and new. Comfortable bed. Enclosed shower stall, so water doesn't get all over the floor. Victoria Street is a busy street at all hours; early one morning a street sweeper with leaf blower came down the street, waking us up. There was trash from the prior guest in the bathroom trash can when we arrived. A large grocery store is on the same block. McDonalds, Burger King, and KFC are a few blocks down the street. The river is a long but interesting walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Loved the double spa in the room and that you could see the TV from it. Room was clean and comfortable. Didn't find road noise a problem and we were in the room closest to the road. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This modernistic Motel is most acceptable with a huge Spa Bath for Two in the Apartment.

The bed was the most comfortable one we have slept in during our month's holiday in Australasia.

It was clean spacious and on located in the suburbs of this Historic town, ideal for a one night stop-over

Noisy traffic environment with constant background noise most of the night but it is located in an ideal location for several home catering with Three nearby supermarkets as well as the Pizza bar chains which we used for a mere $5-it was mouth watering.

The proprietors were most apologetic relating to the noise interuptions

No bedside lights or tables

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Cumbria.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Well presented rooms with the quirky double turbo bath in bedroom. Good for when you fall out and one can literally sleep in the bath. Clean and well appointed an ideal stopover en route from Wellington to New Plymouth. If you are very lucky you may get to see Mount Taranaki in the distance as you travel Westward. If like us you are touring take " the forgotten highway" from Stratford - an amazing experience.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

stayed here a few times now, a must, walking distance to shops, next to supermarkets if you want to do your own cooking, best place in Wanganui i recon, the spa in the room is fantastic as you can watch tv from it, big beds and bathroom shower for big fellas like me...

Room Tip: big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzbikerjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed such a relaxing time at this motel. absoulutely luxurious. The spa was a definite wow factor and the bed absolutely delightful. Truly the most luxurious accommodation in Wanganui and well worth the price, though it was cheaper than expected.

Room Tip: all the units are sound proof, if you don't like climbing stairs, get a ground floor unit. they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratanagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Motor Lodge

Property: Aotea Motor Lodge
Address: 390 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aotea Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star central city Wanganui accommodation including free wifi, spa baths, LCD Sky Tv and corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aotea Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing