We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great location”
Review of Aotea Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aotea Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Aotea motor lodge was very conveniently located in Wanganui- walking distance to shops and supermarkets, the staff were very friendly and it was very good value for money. The only reason not to give it 5 stars is that the beds were too soft- I have back problems and was in some discomfort after two nights. Teenage kids appreciated the free wi-fi!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing us.
Kind Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Aotea Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 172 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Aotea motor lodge is a very nice motel on Victoria avenue. It is a 15-20 minutes walk into the city centre. The rooms are spacious and you have a balcony. The views from the room are not special. You can have breakfast in your room, but there is a very good cafe Parnell 200 metres away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thanks for the time to review our lodge.
Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here and found it excellent. Very comfortable and good to have air conditioning in a hot summer. Very helpful guy on reception when we arrived. We found the beds very comfortable and free Wifi appreciated. Excellent bathroom - we found the double spa bath a little too daunting to use but would be great if you like that sort of thing! The shower was fine!

Well located and we thought it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for the kind review. I will definitely inform William of your comment.
Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Modern, stylish and well decorated interior but in a poor position with not much natural light. Other reviews warned of too soft beds and large spa baths in the bedroom, which turned out to be true on both counts - the bed slumped in the middle and the spa bath dominated the room. Staff were friendly but we won't use again.

Room Tip: Check your room is not in a corner.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoneyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for the review I will definitely ask the team to turn the matresses in all our corner units.
Kind Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Was really excited to stay here the one night especially to use the spa - not at all disappointed here - just fabulous; bathroom is so ultra modern - wonderful. Kitchen facilities adequate for the 2 of us. Spaciousness abounds room is well designed. Unfortunately whilst the bed looks absolutely fabulous it was just way too soft for either of us to sleep well - seems the roll towards the centre factor was there. Such a shame. Would not recommend the bed at all and because of this feel a little cheated on the price of the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoodlesLowerHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for this review - We have decided to start a notebook to document when the matresses are turned.
Sincere Thanks Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed one night after a very long trip down from Auckland and found the room to be excellent. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean and well appointed. And we made use of the double spa which was brilliant. The staff were friendly and helpful so overall we thought the Motel was excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Sincere thanks for a very kind review.
Regards Alaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We checked in last night for an overnight stay from wellington to lake taupo. We had requested a king room quiet, we got the quietest room in the motel at the back of the motel which is great but the bed was terrible. First of all it was a double bed for the 2 of us, not good! It had lumps and it sank in the middle, we had no sleep at all tossing and turning all night, and for this reason I am giving it only 2 ticks. We had been driving all day and the last thing you want is a lumpy small bed after we requested a king and I spoke on the phone to the receptionist to ensure a large bed.
The positives are the tv is large and plasma, it had a microwave, a mini fridge, lots of cups/bowls/plates and cutlery so we walked to the supermarket next door and bought some breakfast goodies and enjoyed our breakie in our room. It also had a large double spa which my husband used to massage his sore back. The bathroom was ok. No breakfast included in the rate, it was $11NZ for continental and $22 for fully cooked. We had also picked this motel for the free wifi and broadband Internet connection but nothing was working at all! After several attempts my husband who is quite computer savvy fixed the entire motel system. The guy at reception, Will, was not very helpful as our only request whilst overnight was some ice and he replied saying there was no ice in the whole motel! Upon checking out this morning there was another guy and the system was down so checking out took a while. Not the speedy checking out, allow time.
We won't be back in this motel ever again only for the reason given which is the terrible small lumpy bed. It's time this motel replaced its beds and whilst at it, get new fluffy pillows as well for us the paying guests. The location is good and you can walk to the Main Street, have diner at the Rutland arms, it was fun and good atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose your bed carefully upon checking in!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bootscooter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post, however, a few items need correcting: the beds are Queen sized. (and I am sure that you will not have read or heard anywhere that they are being described as Kings). You can read the review two down from your post - the beds are described as heavenly, I guess this all comes down to personal opinion really. But I can tell you - the Beds are not even five years old and will not be getting replaced any time soon.
The TV's are in fact LCD 46 inch. The WiFi at the complex has not been down, but thank your computer savvy husband for fixing the entire Motor Lodges problems from his computer? I will speak to William in regards to updating his knowledge on local dining. Once again thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#16 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Motor Lodge

Address: 390 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: $128 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aotea Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star central city Wanganui accommodation including free wifi, spa baths, LCD Sky Tv and corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aotea Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing