We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would be great for young ones.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aotea Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aotea Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would be great for young ones.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

This motel was very modern and situated at the far end of the main street, close to two supermarkets so we were able to walk there and buy some cold meats and salads instead of eating out at a restaurant which made a change. Very clean, and nicely furnished. However I found the shower recess was far too small for me, while the spa bath which I did not use was gigantic, taking up half the bathroom. If you like spa baths then this would be the ultimate place to stay! Did enjoy the extra large TV.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
75
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Loved the huge spa bath in the room. Next time I'm going to take a big book and enjoy that space for hours. Lovely bed to sleep in and one of the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel bed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were in Wanganui for the night and stumbled upon this fantastic accomodation. We needed a 2 bedroom apartment and this place was perfect and very reasonably priced.
Two king singles in the main room, huge bathroom with spa plus a separate room with a queen bed.
The staff were so nice and actually took us to show the room beforehand to make sure we were happy with it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julesr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

.. from the usual drab, soulless motels we had encountered on the rest of our visit to New Zealand. The room was huge, clean, and beautifully appointed, and most of all the beds were fantastically comfortable - our best night's sleep for ages. We had one of the rooms with a double spa bath in the lounge - not a problem at all! To cap it all, the internet connection (free) was the quickest and most reliable we found throughout our (5-week) visit to both North and South Islands. Great value for money - I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us - we really appreciate your kind review.
Regards Alaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

A rather modern and new build motor lodge. Great comfort and huge room. A jacuzzi next to your bed. Located within a 10 minutes walk to the city center for shopping, restaurants and bars on a rather busy road. Breakfast just across the street. A good location for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you like dark hardwood furniture and a spa bath in one corner of your room then the Aotea Motor Lodge certainly is the right choice for you. Just make sure to request a room that is not on the roadside because it can get quite noisy.
We did'nt like the huge bath tub in the room and we found the layout of the room to be more swanky than practical. The worst part though was the cleanliness of our room! There was a whole trailmix to be found on the carpet. Cashew nuts, goji berries and other stuff was on the floor and it looked like the vacuum cleaner was not used in this room a lot.
Location of the Aotea Lodge is alright, front desk staff was professionally friendly but do not expect anything beyond that. The Aotea Motor Lodge is only an ok Motel but certainly not a 5* property!

Room Tip: Away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

When we first got into the room our impression was WOW. The room was very well designed with 2 LCD TV's, double spa bath. The furniture was new and clean. We had a 1 bedroom suit, which was spacious and comportable. Beds for 4 people, another matress was added for our third chils (we knew and agreed to this arranegment in advance). The only problem was that we were requested to add money for the mattress while on the confirmation letter that was not mentioned. Nevetheless, they deserve the money!
Stuff was very friendly and helped in every request. Laundry room was comfortable. Washing machince is FREE! dryer is not but the price is reasonable.
One problem - when our kids used the spa bath some water reached the bottom of the bath and caused and electric disconnection. We could not use the spa bath after that as the solution was - wait until the wires get dry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAYSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Motor Lodge

Property: Aotea Motor Lodge
Address: 390 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aotea Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star central city Wanganui accommodation including free wifi, spa baths, LCD Sky Tv and corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aotea Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing