We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fulfilling, enjoyable and comfortable”
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The room was very comfortable and bathroom and toilet was latest and clean. Outside view and area is very lively and scenic. We enjoyed stay thoroughly and will go back again when possible.
the host were very politely friendly and helpful.
I cannot appreciate more about candle lit dinner and romantic music.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Randhawa182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 162 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Cotswold Cottage B&B on a hill alongside Maramarahi Rd., just south of Thames, was a very nice place for a one-night stop during Nov. 2013. Easy to find. We wish we had been able to stay longer.

We were in the Aynsome Room, the middle of the 3 guest rooms. It had a comfortable king bed, small desk, tasteful decorations, and free WiFi. There was no air conditioning, but the windows opened, and A/C was not needed during our stay. Tea and cake were provided upon our arrival in late afternoon. There was a nice view across the valley from the deck outside the guest rooms and from the adjacent guest lounge, where a small refrigerator and tourism literature were provided. In the morning, hosts Adrienne and Garth provided an excellent breakfast at the time of our choosing. They also gladly provided information and advice about sights in the local area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-D_from_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

An excellent, personal reception by Garth and Adrienne. Very comfortable room with an excellent breakfast.You feel right at home. This is a place to return for sure.

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick_Vanhelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Unfortunately we cannot comment very much on the property, as despite booking and personally speaking to the owners only the night before, we travelled for hours towing our boat and walked up the very steep hill with our suitcases to be told there was no room at the INN.
They did attempt to re-book us in other facilities and offer us a room in the house, it was all too little too late and we ended up sleeping on our boat, not happy at all.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brent-Sherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

This gentleman phoned on the Friday night and the call was redirected to our mobile, as we were on our way to a function. We explained that we were out of office, so could not view the booking page, but that was not a problem, as the gentleman had our booking page open in front of him and was able to see that there was a vacancy. We explained more than once that we were not able to do the booking for him, but all he had to do was book it himself. We explained that he needed to do it to secure the booking, otherwise the room could be booked by someone else. He even asked whether he should pay then or when they checked out, and I began to say it would be fine to pay when they left, but we then realised that on our website booking page you have to pay when you book, so that was explained to him.
He asked if there was parking for their boat, and we replied 'no' , but that he was welcome to use our wheel clamp, and park on the road. When we arrived home and checked the bookings, the room was still vacant, but was then booked overnight under a different name. We were unable to phone them to see what had happened - we had no number, as their call had been redirected from our home phone.
When they arrived there was indeed no room, and the gentleman insisted that he had booked with us over the phone. It was pointless getting in to a 'you said, I said' discussion, so we told them we would try and sort things out whilst they went up the coast fishing (by this time it was after 3pm). We also offered them a room in the house FREE OF CHARGE. I spent almost an hour trying to find them alternative accommodation on a busy weekend in the Coromandel. At some stage he texted us and said they had 'opted to sleep on our boat' However I found a room in a beautiful B n B nearby, and also cleared out our own lovely bedroom (decided we didn't want to give them the room that was still under repair) and made it up with guest bedding, and texted him (his requested means of communication) so. He did not reply to my text, and we never heard from them again - until this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Garth and Adrienne were wonderful hosts with many good suggestions. We found Pat's Pies and they were great. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and varied. The setting is beautiful. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Thanks Garth and Adrienne - we very much enjoyed our overnight stay at Cotswold cottage with you. The rooms was very comfortable and breakfast delicious. Your travel tips were so very helpful and we would never have seen the mob of pigs without your suggestion. We did make it to Hot Water Beach which was pretty amazing and a real highlight. Thanks so much also for forwarding on my phone charger - that was most kind of you. The Coromandel was a delight made all the better by our stay at Cotswold Cottage :)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kaysie_kussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Perfect stay at Cotswold Cottage.for our first full day of vacation in NZ. We dropped off our bags early on our way to Cathedral Cove and got some nice tips from Garth for the drive. Returned in the evening to a relaxing soak in the hot tub to sooth our tired muscles from an afternoon of sea kayaking. Room was clean, tastefully decorated and offered a nice view of the hills in the morning. Adrienne's blueberry pancakes were delicious and one of the best breakfasts of our entire trip. Would highliy recommend staying with them!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
1.2 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
108 reviews
24.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
207 reviews
7.1 mi away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
2 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: $125 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing