We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cotswold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 14 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Cotswold Cottage B&B on a hill alongside Maramarahi Rd., just south of Thames, was a very nice place for a one-night stop during Nov. 2013. Easy to find. We wish we had been able to stay longer.

We were in the Aynsome Room, the middle of the 3 guest rooms. It had a comfortable king bed, small desk, tasteful decorations, and free WiFi. There was no air conditioning, but the windows opened, and A/C was not needed during our stay. Tea and cake were provided upon our arrival in late afternoon. There was a nice view across the valley from the deck outside the guest rooms and from the adjacent guest lounge, where a small refrigerator and tourism literature were provided. In the morning, hosts Adrienne and Garth provided an excellent breakfast at the time of our choosing. They also gladly provided information and advice about sights in the local area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Check the Cotswold Cottage website for details re the 3 distinct rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-D_from_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
106
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

An excellent, personal reception by Garth and Adrienne. Very comfortable room with an excellent breakfast.You feel right at home. This is a place to return for sure.

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Vanhelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Unfortunately we cannot comment very much on the property, as despite booking and personally speaking to the owners only the night before, we travelled for hours towing our boat and walked up the very steep hill with our suitcases to be told there was no room at the INN.
They did attempt to re-book us in other facilities and offer us a room in the house, it was all too little too late and we ended up sleeping on our boat, not happy at all.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brent-Sherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
This gentleman phoned on the Friday night and the call was redirected to our mobile, as we were on our way to a function. We explained that we were out of office, so could not view the booking page, but that was not a problem, as the gentleman had our booking page open in front of him and was able to see that there was a vacancy. We explained more than once that we were not able to do the booking for him, but all he had to do was book it himself. We explained that he needed to do it to secure the booking, otherwise the room could be booked by someone else. He even asked whether he should pay then or when they checked out, and I began to say it would be fine to pay when they left, but we then realised that on our website booking page you have to pay when you book, so that was explained to him.
He asked if there was parking for their boat, and we replied 'no' , but that he was welcome to use our wheel clamp, and park on the road. When we arrived home and checked the bookings, the room was still vacant, but was then booked overnight under a different name. We were unable to phone them to see what had happened - we had no number, as their call had been redirected from our home phone.
When they arrived there was indeed no room, and the gentleman insisted that he had booked with us over the phone. It was pointless getting in to a 'you said, I said' discussion, so we told them we would try and sort things out whilst they went up the coast fishing (by this time it was after 3pm). We also offered them a room in the house FREE OF CHARGE. I spent almost an hour trying to find them alternative accommodation on a busy weekend in the Coromandel. At some stage he texted us and said they had 'opted to sleep on our boat' However I found a room in a beautiful B n B nearby, and also cleared out our own lovely bedroom (decided we didn't want to give them the room that was still under repair) and made it up with guest bedding, and texted him (his requested means of communication) so. He did not reply to my text, and we never heard from them again - until this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Garth and Adrienne were wonderful hosts with many good suggestions. We found Pat's Pies and they were great. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and varied. The setting is beautiful. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Thanks Garth and Adrienne - we very much enjoyed our overnight stay at Cotswold cottage with you. The rooms was very comfortable and breakfast delicious. Your travel tips were so very helpful and we would never have seen the mob of pigs without your suggestion. We did make it to Hot Water Beach which was pretty amazing and a real highlight. Thanks so much also for forwarding on my phone charger - that was most kind of you. The Coromandel was a delight made all the better by our stay at Cotswold Cottage :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kaysie_kussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Center, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Perfect stay at Cotswold Cottage.for our first full day of vacation in NZ. We dropped off our bags early on our way to Cathedral Cove and got some nice tips from Garth for the drive. Returned in the evening to a relaxing soak in the hot tub to sooth our tired muscles from an afternoon of sea kayaking. Room was clean, tastefully decorated and offered a nice view of the hills in the morning. Adrienne's blueberry pancakes were delicious and one of the best breakfasts of our entire trip. Would highliy recommend staying with them!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijtschate, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

After 2 months of travelling in NZ, the last night in Thames at Cotswold Cottage is pampering yourself! Friendly, warm hosts ... wonderful cats (one with a real character!) and a charming, beautifull place to stay. Many thanks to both of you. We dream to come back for another trip to NZ ... maybe we should start next time at Cotswold Cottage !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michoriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thames hotels
1.0 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Property: Cotswold Cottage
Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing