We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than a B&B - a five star experience”
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotswold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than a B&B - a five star experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Adrienne and Garth are great hosts, very friendly and take a lot of extra effort to add lots of extra little touches. With Adrienne's attention to detail and her decor flair she has got it so right.

We had the room with the Neatherwood suite, everything was just lovely. Came away from our 2 night stay feeling very relaxed.

Definitely one of the best places we have stayed in NZ.

Room Tip: Next time I would bring my own pillow as I like a soft plump pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
109
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

After deciding to book at the very last minute a mini break for a gal pal and myself i was thrilled to come across The Cotswold Cottage. The photos of it looked stunning, so fingers were crossed that it would live up to expectations...it did and even more so!

On arrival we met the lovely Gareth and Adrienne, who were so personable and simply put downright delightful. After checking out the gorgeous view over the Thames Racecourse we were treated to the most delicious homemade afternoon tea...fresh apple scones with raspberry jam!
After relaxing in our stunning room we made our way to the beautiful garden area and enjoyed a red wine in the hot spa.

The next morning we woke up to a wonderful breakfast (i'm all about the food!) of fresh croissants, bircher muesli, juices, and a full cooked breakfast made to order.

We had been at the Cotswold Cottage less than less than 24hrs, but this home away from home was so relaxing that we felt like we had been there for days.

Thank you Gareth and Adrienne for your hospitality. You own a wee piece of heaven right there in Thames and we will without a doubt be back (in fact we were already planning it on the car trip home! haha)

Justine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justlyrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Jacqui was due to sell up and we were one of her last guests.
The location is superb, on high ground overlooking a racecourse.
The room had a 4 poster bed and was well furnished and decorated.
Breakfast were superb and set you up for the day.
Taking sand shovels provided by Jacqui, dont miss the hot water beaches in the area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed with Garth and Adrienne, the new hosts for only 1 night and wished we had booked for much longer.
The place really felt like home with a caring heart.. The little touches made it interesting and the absence of little notices that can be too obvious in other B and B's enabled us all the more to relax.
The food was superb .
Although Garth and Adrienne are new to Cotswold Cottage, they are not new to the area and were able to advise us well on what to do and where to go.

Room Tip: All are beautiful . All rooms have an ensuite.. All have views to the river and out to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were the amongst first guests of the new hosts, Garth and Adrienne, and could not have had a more pleasant two nights. The room was lovely and the outlook from the guests lounge is amazing. The cottage is less than five minutes drive from the centre of Thames, which has a variety of restaurants, although Garth and Adrienne said that they would cook dinner if given notice.

Room Tip: The room with the four poster bed has a larger bathroom with a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
1.0 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
19.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
13.9 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Property: Cotswold Cottage
Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing