We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grahamstown choice”
Review of Sola Cafe

Sola Cafe
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grahamstown choice”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A bit crowded but the food made up for it. The cafe is very popular and has interesting food. A good place for those with special food needs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wharetaare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    63
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Healthy and pretty looking food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a lovely little linch here. Many healthy and beautifully presented dishes. Nice selection of teas also.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely home made food!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place has the reputation for the best coffee in town. Lovely fruit teas are on offer (found the one I have at home) as well as the standard drinks. The food in the cabinets looks very appealing, though we only had cake with our drinks. The service is fast and the majority of staff are friendly and welcoming. The owner seemed to be involved in two differences of opinion in our short time there. A down side was that of the numerous tables outside, four had not been cleared of dishes and food etc from previous diners for the 20 minutes we ate - there seemed to be plenty of staff inside who could have attended to this. Modern decor and very appealing food. I would use this place again, if in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A vegetarian cafe my carnivore bf is happy to eat at.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we're in Thames and need breakfast or lunch this is the place to be. Neither of us are vegetarians but it was the only place I could find free range eggs in town which first brought us there but now the delicious food brings us back. If they served free-range bacon, it would be my perfect cafe!!

There menu is all over the place so take a step back and try to take it all in. And I would love to see a sweet item on the breakfast menu. Pancakes would go down a treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleRiblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, coffee, atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is our regular lunch stop between Hamilton and Coromandel. The food is healthy and excellent quality, with a good range of options (the mushrooms are a favourite....), and the coffees also very good. Service is friendly and prompt. Good toilets, and we can buy a range of delicatessen goods such as speciality cheeses.
Well worth stopping at.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TamahereKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sola Cafe also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Sola Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing