We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Te Mata Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were initially wary because the road that leads us to the cottages did not look very promising. However 400m down the road , we were greeted warmly by the owner and her daughter. They showed us the cottages and all our reservations were alleviated straight away. We initailly booked for a two bedroom and a chalet but they were 50 m apart and the owner was kind enough to switch us to a one and two bedroom cottage which were next to each other. That was really thoughtful and we really appreciated that.

The cottages were charming , beds were good ,kitchen well stocked, toilets working well with enough hot water and heaters to keep us warm. You wake up in the mornings to birds chirping and ultra serenity looking at the ferns . The kids had a great time with the trampoline and hammocks . There was even a small stream where the kids could go swimming or kayaking with life jackets provided.

Altogether a very pleasant and unique get away which we will remember. We chose this place because we wanted to go for the coramandel fishing charters which were 40 min away. The owners also loaned us a ice bin for the fish.. There is a convenient store about 10 minutes away where we bought our bread ,milk ,eggs and ice for fishing but do stock up groceries at Thames (20 km) away before reaching.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jolinpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi Jolinpl

Thankyou for taking the time to give us such a great detailed review. We are so pleased that once getting to the end of the driveway all anxieties were relieved. If we could we would concrete the driveway, but in time hopefully we can do it a bit at a time.
Such a joy for us to read how much you enjoyed Te Mata Lodge and all the property has to offer.
Also thanks for the fish you left with us when you returned the chilly bin, we enjoyed them for breakfast the next day, filleted, crumbed and fried.
Was great to meet your family and we are once again so pleased that you could enjoy your time on the Coromandel Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    53
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
77
78
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Thanks for providing such a relaxing accommodation for our weekend escape. Clean tidy cabins and plenty of information on what to do and where to eat in the area. The area down by the river was peaceful and the hammocks a perfect place to relax after playing around in the Kayaks Defiantly will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hi Tania,
Thanks for a great review, great to hear you enjoyed your stay in the one bedroom cottage and even better to hear you enjoyed having a kayak in the swimming hole and relaxing on the hammocks. They are a great spot to chill out and read a book. Look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Te mata lodge for 2 nights in november, 3 children and 2 adults.We found the accomodation in the cottage to be suitable for our group .The rooms were spacious and clean and contained everything that we needed.The cottage was set in a lovely bush setting with a beautiful part of the river available to kayak with the kids. The owners provided great service and were available at any time if there was anything we needed. We had a fantastic holiday and highly recommended for anyone visiting the coromandel!

Room Tip: No pool but a beautiful part of the river to swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Manager at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hi Kristy
Glad to hear you had a fantastic time staying at Te Mata Lodge, that is the reason we are here and seeing families enjoy the property really is a highlight in our days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent 3 peaceful nights in a bijou cabin in stunning surroundings. Comfy bed, well equipped kitchen, sparkling bathroom, and friendly owners and their curious hens. It was fine for 2, it might be a bit of a squeeze for a family. The location is secluded yet the main road is not far. If we did not live quite so far away, this lodge would be one of our go-to places for short breaks. Just lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Manager at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thanks for a stunning review Ina
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, that is the most important thing for us. We would agree completely with you in regards to the size of our Chalets, ideally suited for couples. Most families who stay come with the expectation of the size and so seem to really enjoy themselves, I think the trick for families is to see the chalets as a place to sleep and the rest of the property as your place to play and enjoy. That being said we have a two bedroom cottage which can sleep six for families looking for more space and a bigger kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We loved our two nights at Te Mata Lodge. We stayed in a lovely cabin with a gorgeous view of the native New Zealand bush. Only two,but our cabin had an upstairs & would have suited a family. The cabin was pristine & everything seemed new & well cared for & spotless. In a very secluded spot, but not far off the main road, with a lovely stream & play area for children. My husband swam in the swimming hole & we enjoyed the gang of chickens! Our hosts Murray & Dorothy were very welcoming & we liked the ecological green aspect of Te Mata Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreJournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thanks for a great review. It really made me smile hearing about the gang of chickens, they are quite friendly and curious creatures, are they not. Glad to hear your enjoyed the property and even have a chance for a swim, personally I am going almost everyday that I am around. The Chalet you stayed in is our latest addition of accommodation and as you found is perfect for couples and great for small families that don't mind a very cozy close feel :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Temata is a lovely peaceful place to stay. The cottage we stayed in was really lovely and felt very homely, it had all that anyone would require to stay in. Their sense of nature, with recycling etc is great. Will return for another stay with friends.

Thank you for a peaceful night stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hi Christine, Thank you for your lovely review, we agree with you, we definitely have a beautiful spot here and we are glad you got to experience it for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We only had two brief nights at Te Mata Lodge but the experience was well worth it. The grounds are beautiful and the location peaceful and tranquil. The hosts were lovely and welcoming. Had we had more time at Te Mata, we would have taken up the offer of the free kayaking and private tour of the glow worm grotto.

Room Tip: Note there was no swimming pool (but there was a river) and no restaurant that we were made aware of
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks for the Review Melanie. Glad to hear you enjoyed the grounds and even considered the kayaking. If you do come again hopefully you can get the perfect day to experience the river. I noted you ranked us a three for room and cleanliness, it would be great if you could flick us an email about what aspects you were not so happy with as we would love to be aware of these to make future guests stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
20.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
14.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
14.2 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Property: Te Mata Lodge
Address: 18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Te Mata Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an idyllic valley, bordered by bush and stream, minutes from the coast. Quality reasonably priced accommodation - cabins, cottages and chalets. Quiet and peaceful, no road noise. Swimming, gold panning, rock/gemstone collecting, bush walks, kayaking, glow worm grotto - all free to guests. Friendly owners who are happy to help with trip planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing