We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Te Mata Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Morrinsville
1 review
“Great family holiday”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was the ultimate relaxing family holiday. The hosts were lovely and helpful when required but very discrete. The swimming hole is fantastic and was safe for our beginner kayaking skills. Our children had fun gold paning in the river. The cabin was comfortable and fully equipped. Even the knives were sharp! We loved the feeling of being completely removed from society, but only really just down the road from town. There is loads to do, and the setting is completely relaxing. We came back feeling refreshed and invigorated and will definitely visit again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom cabin. Good size for a small family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks for such a fantastic review, and that is a great pointer, we will try remember to check how sharp the knives are every now and then. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, the place really comes to life for us when we see family really enjoying themselves. The experience you had is the sort that keeps us excited about what we do at Te Mata Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    54
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
81
78
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

There are fewer places like this these days. Such a contrast to the shiny apartments going in elsewhere. Tucked away in a sheltered valley, with the silence of a bush-fed stream and of birdsong, your hosts are warm and discreet, your cabin is comfortable, clean and well supplied with cooking gear. There's an abundance of local produce not far along the road, or even just over the road in the sea if you know where to get it! Magic.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlastairBorwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for the review Alistair
It was great reading what you had to say about Te Mata Lodge and sharing it with the family here. Your so right that places like our own are at times more rear. The property is especially appreciated by anyone who enjoys being able to see and experience nature and still enjoy a nice warm bed to end with
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

During our 3 weeks stay in New Zealand this was the place we liked most. Although quite hard to find, this actually not to remote place offered us a relaxing setting in the middle of the bush and also a very good point to start exploring both coasts of the Coromandel from. A special thanks goes to the very friendly and helpful owner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for such a great review, glad you enjoyed your stay as it is so very important to use that our guests enjoy Te Mata Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very close the river and watergardens,it has a great nature..I stayed in mountain house and it was very silence. all rooms were quite clean.. stuffs were so friendly .. but if you' d like to be close cathedral cove and hot water beach, this hotel a little bit far from there..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cankutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for the review cankutu, we love our little spot on the Coromandel Peninsula. It is true though, we are on the opposite coast to cathedral cove and hot water beach, well based if you are wanting to explore all around the peninsula however if it is hot water beach and cathedral cove then we are an hours drive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A great place to relax. The ownes were really friendly and the chalet cosy. Te Mata Lodge is a great place to relax and forget the hustle and bustle of daily life. I highly recommend spending time there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for a great Review David,
Was great getting the chance to meet you and chat with you a bit. Look forward to seeing you again, hopefully with less marking so you can relax a bit more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A nice little spot in a somewhat secluded location. We stayed in the main cottage. It had a full kitchen, a fire place and everything you needed. The place is old, but still clean and acceptable. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

The local pub was inviting and a good place for a few drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for the review David

Glad you enjoyed yourself, we love our little spot surrounded by nature. In regards to the age of the cottages, they are indeed our older accommodation, dating back to the early 60's. Our chalets are a lot newer being 2006 however they were booked out on your arrival. Our intention is to re-clad or paint the exterior and replace the interior for GIB board... but as we all know how time and money goes. If you do visit again I would advise trying our newer chalets and staying at least a couple nights to enjoy the rest of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in a chalet and it was clean and tidy and had everything you need. Very peaceful place. A beautiful setting, handily located with very friendly and helpful hosts. Lots of birdlife and nice to able to access the river.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RegularDiner586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeMataLodge-Thames, Manager at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for the great review.
We are stoked that you enjoyed staying at Te Mata Lodge. We love the setting here and love it even more when our guests can enjoy the property too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
20.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
12.9 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
108 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
14.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
15.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Property: Te Mata Lodge
Address: 18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Te Mata Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an idyllic valley, bordered by bush and stream, minutes from the coast. Quality reasonably priced accommodation - cabins, cottages and chalets. Quiet and peaceful, no road noise. Swimming, gold panning, rock/gemstone collecting, bush walks, kayaking, glow worm grotto - all free to guests. Friendly owners who are happy to help with trip planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing