We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great farmstay with such wonderful hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westwind Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwind Homestay
Ranked #9 of 14 Thames B&B and Inns
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great farmstay with such wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spend 1 night at Westwind and had such a great time!
Linda & Ian are wonderful hosts, they really make you feel confortable. The place is lovely, in the middle of nature, great view from the veranda. We enjoiyed a lot our chat with our hosts & the tour oft eh property. There are quite some animals oft he farm, so that’s great: pings, dogs, cats.
We had dinner with our hosts, and it was delicious! Weh ad great lamb and vegetables.

The rooms are wonderful and with caracter. The cats can go all over the place, so clsoe the door if you are allergic, and take an antihistaminic staff. We are allergic, but this did not change anything to the great moments we had there.

We enjoyed the breakfast. Our hosts had to goto work very early, but let everything for us when we woke up. Weh ad plenty of juices, yogourts, cereals.
Our hosts helped us with our sightseeing plans in the area, suggesting usseveral places to go for our day to Rotorua.
Weh ad such a great farm experience, and we felt so welcomed, that we loved the place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Linda and Ian are the best hosts we have met- warm, extremely helpful and friendly. They made a point to mingle with the guests, were chatty and helpful with local insight and attractions. They go the extra mile to make sure your stay is comfortable and would do what they can to make it interesting - cracking home-grown macadamias, sharing their stories of their wonderful pets and enjoying a breakfast with them.

If you are looking for a great hospitable home stay, this is the one for you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucueee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

we arrived shortly after the birth of five puppies and 13 piglets so there is plenty of animal activity and we each enjoyed a puppy moment after breakfast. this is a very peaceful location with stunning views across to the Coromandel hills in the distance - a true retreat away from it all, but direction to it are foolproof.
evening meals are provided especially as it is some distance to the nearest restaurant
very friendly and engaging hosts who make you feel very much at home

Room Tip: if you wish to visit the Miranda shorebird centre this is an excellent base
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Corax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Westwind and enjoyed the quiet location and lovely views from the verandah. Each evening our hosts took us on a walk through the bushland which was a great experience. We were lucky enough to see three moreporks. Ian said this was the first time they had seen these birds on their property in all the years they'd been there.

We had booked dinner the first night as we'd been travelling all day and there are no cafes close by. We enjoyed the roast lamb and veges and there was a bowl of fresh strawberries for dessert but thought $45 was a bit overpriced for the dinner. The second night, we brought home a takeaway meal and Linda heated it for us in the microwave. We enjoyed this with a glass of wine on the verandah, overlooking the beautiful countryside.

The room was lovely on our arrival with great attention to detail. The second day, we came back from a day's sightseeing to find our room just as we had left it in the morning with the bed unmade - we later read a notice that said you had to ask if you wanted the room made up.

This would be a great place for animal lovers. There were a few pigs on the property and two dogs, 5 puppies and 2 Persian cats live inside the house. We weren't too keen about the cat up on the kitchen table. The cats obviously have free run of the house, including guests' bedrooms. We weren't allergic to cats but if you were, this place wouldn't suit you as the chairs have cat hair on them and the cat was groomed in the living room.

We enjoyed the breakfasts - especially Ian's pancakes the first morning and there was a good selection of juices, yoghurts and cereals. Linda helped us with our sightseeing plans in the area, suggesting a couple of routes for a day trip the next day.

We were made to feel very welcome and felt that we'd had a real farmstay experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junosbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights on the 22nd and 23rd of May 2011. The host (Ian) was fantastic!!!! He welcomed us with open arms, was really easy going and laid back. The place was great and had wonderful views. We woke up every morning and looked forward to the amazing pancakes from Ian! We also had dinner with Ian on the 2nd night which was lovely home cooked food.

Thank you so much for the fantastic time. We had a real blast and we are missing Archie, Nicky and Rosy!. By the way, Archie is the dog and Nicky and Rosy are the cats. Absolutely lovely animals!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fralen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Wonderfully hospitable hosts Linda and Ian will make you feel as though you are staying with long lost friends. Our room was beautifully set out with really lovely little details, like chocolate biscuits and an array of fragrant homemade soaps.
Westwind has a lovely, cosy, homely feel. You know that in the depths of winter these guys would know how to entertain and keep the conversation flowing. We had an extremely restful sleep and fantastic breakfast.
Linda and Ian were very obliging with the lateness of our checkout, as I knew they had guests that evening to get ready for. We thank you for that!
My daughter is 2 and she was charmed by both hosts. Linda supplying a terrific vintage selection of toys and wooden puzzles and Ian rustling up some of his wood turned toys for her as well.
We loved all the pets and Archie gets a special mention for being such a good boy. We hope Nikita (puss) turned up after an evening out on the prowl, and you'll be pleased to know, Linda, Sylvie is now the proud owner of a bristle hair brush.
Cheers and best wishes!

p.s. Make time for the 15 minute bush walk...it is a highlight!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missdiscotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed 3 nights with Linda and Ian (and Archie the dog). We were made so welcome, it was like staying with good friends. My wife had a problem with a broken denture and Linda went to a lot of trouble to find someone who would see her that day. The food was excellent - Ian's pancakes are justly famous and the setting is gorgeous. A great place to stay if you are in that area

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thames hotels
14.8 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 14 in Thames
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
15.0 mi away
Shortland Court Motel
Shortland Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
6.9 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
15.0 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
15.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 14 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwind Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind Homestay

Property: Westwind Homestay
Address: 228 North Road | Mangatarata, RD6, Thames 3576, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwind Homestay 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Westwind Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing