We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super convivial hosts...beautifully quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westwind Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwind Homestay
Ranked #9 of 14 Thames B&B and Inns
Tauranga
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“super convivial hosts...beautifully quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Wonderfully hospitable hosts Linda and Ian will make you feel as though you are staying with long lost friends. Our room was beautifully set out with really lovely little details, like chocolate biscuits and an array of fragrant homemade soaps.
Westwind has a lovely, cosy, homely feel. You know that in the depths of winter these guys would know how to entertain and keep the conversation flowing. We had an extremely restful sleep and fantastic breakfast.
Linda and Ian were very obliging with the lateness of our checkout, as I knew they had guests that evening to get ready for. We thank you for that!
My daughter is 2 and she was charmed by both hosts. Linda supplying a terrific vintage selection of toys and wooden puzzles and Ian rustling up some of his wood turned toys for her as well.
We loved all the pets and Archie gets a special mention for being such a good boy. We hope Nikita (puss) turned up after an evening out on the prowl, and you'll be pleased to know, Linda, Sylvie is now the proud owner of a bristle hair brush.
Cheers and best wishes!

p.s. Make time for the 15 minute bush walk...it is a highlight!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missdiscotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evesham
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed 3 nights with Linda and Ian (and Archie the dog). We were made so welcome, it was like staying with good friends. My wife had a problem with a broken denture and Linda went to a lot of trouble to find someone who would see her that day. The food was excellent - Ian's pancakes are justly famous and the setting is gorgeous. A great place to stay if you are in that area

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

The homestay is true to its reviews. We use tripadvisor for everything and feel compelled to leave a review. It is quite a ways from Thames or anywhere but this adds to the experience.
The rooms are 5 star and that is really all I can say. The views are great and it is so quiet!

Breakfast was great and so was the tour around the property. We were not able to do the woodland walk but I'm sure it is just as amazing. We paid $99 on Wotif and that was totally worth every cent.

Thanks very much for the stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neptune1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

For our last night in NZ we wanted to be reasonably close to the airport and also the coast. Westwind put us a few minutes from the Miranda Shorebird Centre, where the spring bird migration was underway. (Note to birders: Make sure you can be there at high tide.)
Westwind is a large home, hand crafted by the owners. It has beautiful views of the hills and its own bush walk. The owners, Ian and Linda, and gracious and super friendly, and obviously love what they do and where they live.
As is common in NZ homestays (as opposed to B&Bs), we were able to have dinner there by advance arrangement. It was excellent NZ lamb and very reasonably priced at $35 NZ, including wine. Breakfast was very good, too. Ian made big, fluffy pancakes. Our room was bigger than our large bedroom at home, and beautifully furnished, as was the ensuite.
We went the longer way to the airport, following the shore, stopping at a famous fish and chips shop (delicious and cheap), and doing a coastal hike at a shore park. We hit rush hour, but this didn't add more than 15 minutes to the total trip.
We would have loved to spend another night and explored more of the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandySea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gocek
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

We spent three months travelling around New Zealand, staying at B&B accommodation. Westwind Homestay was outstanding. Set in 17 acres of bush, it's not the easiest place to find and the location is remote, but so well worth it once you get there. Linda and Ian were very welcoming and made us feel immediately at home, treating us as visiting friends rather than paying guests. The accommodation itself was so comfortable and tastefully furnished with many nice touches (roses in the bathroom, for instance). Ian is renowned for his pancakes, and quite rightly so. After sampling the breakfast, we really regretted not being able to stay for dinner.

Linda had an appointment in Thames on the morning we were leaving, but postponed it to give us a tour of the bush around the house. We were hoping to go back for a longer stay, but time constraints prevented this. However, if we ever manage to get back to New Zealand it will be at the top of our list to visit.

  • Liked — Linda and Ian were outstanding hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was one of the best we had
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JazDursley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thames hotels
14.8 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 14 in Thames
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
15.0 mi away
Shortland Court Motel
Shortland Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
6.9 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
15.0 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
15.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 14 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwind Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind Homestay

Property: Westwind Homestay
Address: 228 North Road | Mangatarata, RD6, Thames 3576, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwind Homestay 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing