We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bugger Cafe

Bugger Cafe
Ranked #6 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Thames
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our cafe is different from other cafes. Besides offering excellent food and coffee, it is our intent that you leave our cafe happier than when you came in. Our decor celebrates 'bugger moments' and encourages you to have a laugh at life. We believe life is too serious and if you laugh more everything is better. Our food is fresh, succulent, tasty and, wherever possible, local. So everything we sell will fit into these categories. We make everything on site. All are baristas are highly trained to deliver you the perfect brew.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Like others the name and vivid colours certainly catch your eye and with grumpy hungry kids we were happy with the distraction.

The staff were all friendly, the food was good and the coffee was nice.

Well worth the stop, we've since been back a number of times.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    46
    10
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brand new concept cafe, friendly welcome, good coffee”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Well, you just have to stop when you see the crashed tractor out front. The pictures inside will keep you smiling too. Good for a coffee and a snack on the route from Auckland to Coromandel. Fresh, clean, with the owner firmly in evidence and welcoming. Worth pulling over for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were impressed by the very friendly helpful service at this cafe. Handy too on the way through to the Coromandel from Auckland.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jensjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A 'must'!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

What a place! We were on our way from Kawakawa Bay to Tauranga when we saw the sign at the side of the road and we just had to stop there. The first thing you see is the tractor the crashed into the cafe's signpost - that combined with its name, the cafe certainly grabbed our attention.
The cafe itself is tastefully decorated (including lots of posters, photos and sayings depicting 'Bugger' moments) the staff is very friendly and efficient, and the food is original, delicious and well presented and the coffee was excellent too!
What a fabulous experience, shame we live on the other side of the world and won't be able to visit it for the foreseeable future!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0sephine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stop”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stopped on the way back from coromandel. The front man/manager personally greets everyone. The menu is excellent with items out of the norm on the menu. Playground for pre school kids and lots to look at in the cafe. Definately will be back gor the flounder!

Helpful?
Thank LAURASANDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bugger Cafe also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Bugger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing