We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coastal Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed just one night but it was at the end of a VERY long trip from the US. Could not have been more pleased. Cottages are a little small and not fancy but well maintained and spotlessly clean. Ease in finding them (on main route) also made it nice when we were so tired. Staff was exceptionally friendly/helpful and breakfast the next morning (delivered to your room!) was superb. One of the few places we've stayed where I'd say you get MORE than you pay for!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callen2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 145 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here for four nights on our way back to Auckland. Clean apartments: the construction with parking space beneath the living space was a good idea, and kept the car cool during the day. We were occasionally kept awake by a manic bird running around on the roof, although we can't really blame the hosts for that :)

We used this as a base to explore the Coromandel Peninsular and would have to say that you can expect some fairly long drives to reach some of the nicer beaches such as New Chums and Opito Bay. Nearby Thames offers a good range of restaurants, and we would highly recommend a visit to the Rapaura Water Gardens (also nearby).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We spent 30 days here, and it was wonderful. Karen and Colin are excellent hosts. We arrived after a 26 hour flight from the UK. They gave us a wonderful welcome and made us confortable. The accomadation was excellent, spotless and serviced daily and had every thing in it. We choose a raised lodge for the magnificent view of the ocean. All the staff were polite and curtious. The car parking was right out side our lodge.
karen and Colin were extremely helpful to us first timers in NZ, they sorted out our car hire and took us down to the town. They are both very knowledgeable about Thames and the Coramandle perninsular and gave us good advice. They have a wide range of brouchers and if what you want is not there I am sure they could find it out for you. The free e mail was a real bonus as we had to keep the UK informed regularly, so top marks for that. The food was excelent and a good choice, thats delivered to your door. They really do there best to accomodate your times as well. As for coast road, the lodges are far enough back not to interfere and the trees make a wonderful sight. Overall its difficult to be brief about the Coastal and Karen with Colin really made our stay in N Z an extremely wonderful time. All I can say is we really reccomend it to anyone wanting to visit, you will not be dissapointed. If we are down there again its a definite for us.
Fred and Peter

Room Tip: dificult as they all good. The ground level are bigger ? a family of 4. The raised are great for2 0r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Thankyou so much for the great review. We did enjoy having you here and hope you both had a safe trip home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

good location at the base of the Coromandel Peninsula - reasonable rates, free wifi, decent rooms with full kitchen. Some mosquito issues first night - closed the windows and killed them all! Nice view of the coast and far enough from the "road" that the noise wasn't an issue. 5 minutes drive into town with grocery stores, movie theaters and some mid ranged restaurants.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
Thank RWRocksOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Coastal Motor Lodge is a short distance out of Thames, overlooking the Firth, on the way up the coast road to Coromandel township. My mother and I were booked to stay a night in one of the units, but were upgraded on arrival as the existing occupants had decided to stay a couple of extra days - a very nice surprise.

The chalet we had was spacious, clean and well appointed, with a very pleasant outlook. It was very enjoyable to relax and take in the surroundings from living area which was effectively an extension of the balcony. Karen - one of the hosts - couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating.

Some very minor points that may be of interest to other readers: the kitchette was a tad small and the parking spaces out the front of the chalets are not designated, which did cause some consternation amongst fellow guests. Alles war nicht in Ordnung!

Finally, we did struggle a bit with the heat and humidity during the evening of our stay, and needed an oscillating fan to keep the temperature at bay.

All in all, I'd thoroughly recommend the Coastal Motor Lodge if you're staying in Thames or passing through.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed here several nights in a raised chalet that is designed in two separate rooms...our second time to do so. We really enjoy our stays here! The units are very light and open and you feel like you are outside in nature, not couped up in a room. The units are very clean, comfortable, and have everything you need, including onsight laundry. The owners are very helpful and friendly. There is a spa that you can use to relax. We enjoy hiking to Pinnacles and use this as a home base as it is very close to the entrance to Kaueranga. Also, free WiFi works very well and we find that very helpful.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
Thank Love2Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2010

So pleased you enjoyed your stay once again. Was an absolute pleasure to have you. May be we will welcome you back yet again???
Kind regards Colin & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This was what we needed for a couple of nights after travelling for two weeks. The chance to relax with a view, with everything needed to hand in the elevated chalet. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKIWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2010

Hi Guys so pleased you enjoyed your stay was a pleasure to be able to look after you.
Regards Karen @ Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
19.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.5 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
155 reviews
3 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motor Lodge

Address: 608 Tararu Rd | PO Box 226, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Thames
Price Range: $108 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Motor Lodge is a four star Qualmark rated Motel located at the gateway of the magnificent Coromandel Peninsula. Accommodation is set amongst beautiful lush grounds directly opposite the Hauraki Gulf and provides a range of quality accommodation including elevated sea view studio chalets, family room, access rooms and budget style cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coastal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing