We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hosts & The Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Ranked #2 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Alby and Rachel were wonderful. There was initially some problem with the booking/payment, however they told us you rest and we will take care of it.
Alby helped us with the bags and we were pleased by the hospitality he offered.
Rachel was amazing to guide us, she made a few phone calls to book activities around.
It's a shame we didn't spend enough time with the hosts. But there is always a next time.

They greeted us well and provided us with the best quality milk and a liquor night cap. The breakfast was well presented. The kiwis were of good choice.

This B&B is well spaced out. Has a small pool. It looks great from the outside. The rooms have a small kitchenette with crockery etc. The camelia chalet has a huge balcony and gives privacy.

Thames is situated just 2 hours from Auckland. It gives opportunity for a mid point on the way to Coromandel peninsula without being tired after the flight. It is recommended for those who want to make a day tour to Coromandel peninsula. It takes about an hour and half to get there from Thames. The drive is good and during the evenings the ocean waves are calm and serene. Thames is not recommended for those who want to spend 5 days at Coromandel. It is good for 2 nights and situated close to Auckland plus reduces travel time if you were to go south of the North Island.

Be up early to enjoy Coromandel as well as this property.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rohan9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Grafton Cottage and Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 214 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was our first stop on a two week tour of New Zealand. We drove straight here from the Auckland airport, about a 1 1/2 hour drive. We were exhausted after a 12 hour flight from L.A. We drove up the steep road to the little driveway and were warmly welcomed by our hostess, Rachel (I think that's her name.) She showed us to the Camellia Chalet and it just felt so peaceful and lovely. It was the perfect place to collapse and relax after a long journey! The cottages/ chalets are all perched on a steep hillside with a gorgeous view of the town of Thames and the water (Firth of Thames). The units are separate, connected by wooden walkways, up in the treetops of the palms with flowering bushes. It felt like a treehouse, with a lovely balcony. We were only there one night so we didn't get a chance to use the small pool and hot tub or the BBQ area. We greatly appreciated the lovely tea and homemade cookies brought to our unit when we arrived, and the continental breakfast in the morning was also lovely, eaten at our own little table, looking at the view out the window. Rachel's husband, Alby, was very helpful with our luggage (there were a few stairs, up and down the hillside). The unit was big, clean, very comfortable. There was a small "kitchen" area with a fridge, microwave, toaster, sink, and dishes. (We found this to be so in almost every famly-owned motel we stayed at in NZ. Real dishes and glassware, unlike the plastic cups now offered in American motels.) My only criticism was that the bathroom was really just a space carved out of the room, with walls that didn't reach all the way to the ceiling. Just a small thing, though, as overall the place was wonderful and I wish we had had the time to stay longer. We highly recommend Grafton Cottages if you happen to be visiting the Coromandel Peninsula or need a place to stop en route to Rotorua from Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLSBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I would actually rate this a 3.5. My husband, adult son, and I stayed in Kowhai Chalet in mid-March 2014. The chalet has 1 bedroom upstairs with queen bed (innerspring mattress). It has limited floor space and very limited shelf/counter space with only a small dresser. Downstairs is 1 twin bed (very soft mattress) which serves also as the "couch", a very small "kitchenette" which is a small sink with equal size draining area for washed dishes and a small microwave and 1/2 size refrigerator. There is no other counter space nor any stove/burners etc.. There is a small table with 2 chairs, a flat screen ~36" TV with 20 channels. Free WI-Fi is available. The bathroom is adequate with a corner shower, fixed shower head, a mirror on the wall that is perpendicular to the sink (none above the sink) and 2 faucets (separate hot and cold, which is fairly common in New Zealand). There are no screens on the windows which do have black-out curtains, and no fans or A/C. A continental breakfast is provided: yogurt, cereal, toast, juice, coffee, oranges, bananas. The unit was spotless. The owners are very helpful and friendly, but all in all, we found it to be over-priced and cramped for 3 people (we spent 30 nights in New Zealand so have many places for comparison).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CathieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a lovely little B&B which we stayed in during our road trip around New Zealand. From the start the service we received was exceptional and friendly, the accommodation was great, as was the selection for breakfast.
Would thoroughly recommend this B&B if you are staying in thames or the coromandel region.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matrhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had a good feeling from the start - the hosts were incredibly helpful in squeezing in our group at the last minute. Definitely the place to stay if you want to do the Pinnacles. The location is perfect and the hot tub big enough to fit 6 tired walkers. Rachel and Alby really go the extra mile - loved the complimentary cookies and local liqueur. Had an awesome weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deeni67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

After driving up to the top of the hill, we could feel we were staying somewhere special. We were taken aback by the stunning views and loved the gorgeous gardens. We stayed in the Rose Chalet and found it roomy enough for the two of us. The extra touches of the yummy homemade cookies and the after dinner nightcap were really appreciated. The bed was very comfortable and we both had an excellent nights sleep. To wake up in the morning and hear nothing else but the birds singing was delightful. A lovely continental breakfast was brought out to us by Rachel, which we chose to eat outside on the deck to take in the gorgeous views out to the sea, overlooking the gardens. Alby and Rachel are the perfect hosts, and we would certainly choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: A fantastic spot to watch the sunset
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chez1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nice cottages, a beautiful view, friendly and helpful hosts and a great breakfast on the deck. Definitely recommend staying at the Grafton Cottages if you are in the area! Don't skip the cookies - they were delicious!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erin12578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks so much for your sweet review and your recommendation for staying with us. We do love that we get to share our great view with others as it is fantastic, especially as the sun is setting.
The cookies - LOL - we had to do three batches today - not sure what went wrong with the first two but lovely to read your review and know that they are being enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
18.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
115 reviews
13.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
196 reviews
20.9 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Cottage and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Cottage and Chalets

Address: 304 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: $90 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grafton Cottage and Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lonely Planets pick for Thames. Nestled high in the hills above Thames, Grafton Cottage and Chalets is in a excluded, peaceful tree-lined setting far from any traffic noise. At the end of each day exploring the Coromandel, relax in the spa, or simply laze by the pool overlooking the sea. BBQ your dinner while watching the sun set over the sea or sample the local restaurants. We offer self contained chalet accommodation in individually designed studio, 1 and 2 bedroom cedar chalets. A delicious full continental breakfast (Grafton Cottage style), on site staff and daily housekeeping is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Grafton Cottage and Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing