We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Avalon Thames Motel(Coromandel Peninsula)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Seaspray Motel(Coromandel Peninsula)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
177
38
11
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
38
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnight capbiscuitsone nightlovely continental breakfastnew zealandenjoy the viewrata roomhill sidecoromandel peninsulafantastic viewsthese chaletson arrivallovely familyour honeymoonfresh milklovely couple
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 231 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have recently returned from an overnight stay at the Grafton Cottage and Chalets and
I can honestly say it was one of the most pleasant experiences I have had at a property in a long, long time. Alby and Rachel and their delightful children made the stay a memorable one .
The accommodation was super clean and well equipped. The pool and spa topped it off!
Fabulous views of the Firth of Thames from everywhere on the property. As a well travelled Travel Agent I can only say you would go a long way to find a better run Motel and to top it off they supply a lovely continental breakfast delivered to your room at a time suitable to you.
Thanks again guys and we will definitely be back for a longer stay.
Kind Regards Sue

Room Tip: I saw all the rooms at the Property and would have happily have stayed in any one of them. All spotlessly clean, all had views, all had great facilities and access to the pool/spa area. Would not suit people who had trouble with lots of steps or were in a wheelchair
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Thanks Sue for taking your time to write such a kind and thoughtful review about your stay with us. We are really pleased that you managed to enjoy the pool and spa in your short stay as we know you were here for a special occasion. It was also great that you were also able to look around the other chalets so you now know what you want next time when you bring more of the family with you! We look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Highly recommend anyone to stay here. Brilliant start to our New Zealand holiday. Alby and Rachel are a delightful couple, friendly and helpful. We had Kowhai Chalet, large double bed upstairs, own decked area where we had the wonderful large breakfast in the morning which was bought to the door. Clean and very comfortable. In the evening enjoyed the hot tub watching the sun go down over the amazing views. Wished we could have stayed longer.

What a find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

We are so pleased that you managed to stay with us after the uncertainty at the beginning and we are wrapped that you enjoyed your night with us in the Kowhai Chalet. The hot tub is a real treat after a day out and especially on a beautiful clear night with the abundance of stars. Thanks for taking your time to write a lovely review about your stay here with us. Maybe next time you can stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Thames is not a tourist oriented town however a good place to base yourself when visiting the Coromandel Peninsula as you can do a loop of the Peninsula. Grafton cottages are elevated and offer good ocean views of Firth of Thames to the West. The cottage we stayed in was clean well maintained and good size being over two levels. Very helpful hosts who even lent us a shovel to take to the hot water beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greentoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

You are spot on - Thames (and Grafton Cottage and Chalets of course) is a fantastic base for exploring The Coromandel. We are about an hour away from Coromandel Town and Hot Water Beach plus Cathedral Cove so day trips are easy without the need to pick and pack up each day or it can be done in a days loop as well. We do love our views that Grafton has to offer for our guests and the sunsetting in the evening can just be magical. Thanks for taking your time to share your experience about your stay with us here at Grafton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent one night in a Grafton chalet. Because the chalets are on top of a steep hill, the best feature was the deck with a great view of the town and Firth of Thames. Lots of birds hopping around in the trees and a great take-out fish and chips dinner from the wharf nearby were highlights. The upstairs bedroom was very comfortable and quiet. Downstairs, the bathroom and main room, while clean, were a bit "frayed around the edges". Breakfast was very basic but adequate. The driveway into the chalets is narrow and steep in spots so may be difficult for a large vehicle. Since the car parking is not immediately at the chalets, it may also be difficult if carrying a lot of luggage although the friendly hosts volunteered to help with this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCTraveler058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your fish n chips on the chalet deck. It is always a great way to end your day after a day of sight seeing or driving. Since returning home, a year ago, to New Zealand we too love and appreciate more the sound of the birds song that Grafton has to offer. The Morepork (owl) hooting at night is also a real treat. We are in the process of putting new bathrooms the chalets as well as painting them, as we mentioned to you. The Kowhai Chalet where you stayed now has a new bathroom and vinyl.
Our breakfast is not a full cooked breakfast but does include juices, fruits, cereal, yoghurts, toast, brewed coffee etc so it does provide a good start to get your through to lunch.
We are always here to help with getting your luggage for you as well as dropping you to and from town for dinner if you did choose to head out and wanted a drink or two.
Thanks for sharing your experience with all about your night with us here at Grafton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay for one night whilst touring North Island.
So glad we chose Grafton cottage and chalets.
On the hillside looking down towards Thames, the fantastic views whilst sipping cold beers on the decking were well worth it .
Our Chalet was private, clean and made a great change from staying in motels.
A good nights sleep in a comfy bed meant we awoke refreshed and breakfast delivered by host Alby is a nice touch.
Although our stay was short we really enjoyed it and would love to return again for longer stay sometime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews