We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, awesome hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Ranked #2 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Grafton Cottages for the 1 week NZ portion of our honeymoon trip and we could not be more thrilled with our choice. We stayed in the "Rata" cottage and you could not find a better view of Thames and the water. Gorgeous sunsets, beautiful mornings-- even the foggy ones! We loved the accommodation, the breakfast was plenty and charged us up for our full days of biking and sightseeing. The owners (Rachel and Alby) and some of the nicest people we've met in our travels and genuinely want to share their little slice of paradise with their guests. Alby took us around for 2 days of sightseeing which was awesome-- he has great stories, information, and a wonderful personality! It was such a great personal experience! The location is great overall as you can get to anywhere in the Coromandel easily and also to Auckland or Rotorua, etc. It's also right up from town-- a doable/easy walk if you're so inclined. We will definitely be telling everyone we know about Grafton Cottages! I hope to bring family back one day!

Room Tip: The Rata Cottage has the BEST views of the town and water-- exceptional for the gorgeous sunsets. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 222 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived in Thames at night for the first time and finally made our way to Grafton Cottages. We met Alby who cheerily welcomed us and showed us to Rose Cottage, along with little Leiana leading the way!
Rose Cottage was very clean, comfortable and a pleasure to relax in. Breakfasts were hearty. A nice balance between getting to know you and privacy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was looking for a place where I could relax and unwind for 2 or 3 days after a busy season. I could not have chosen better. The best part was the neat couple that own the place, they couldn't have done more to make me feel at home. The location is peaceful with great views of the township and across the firth of Thames. I can highly recommend a stay here and intend to return myself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CraigandAngela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graftoncottage, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

We are so pleased that you were able to unwind and relax with us here at Grafton Cottage and Chalets. It definitely is a peaceful place with sometimes just the sound of the birds chirping in the trees. It was great that you could spend some time in Thames and take a look to see how things had changed from when you have been here previously.
Thanks so much for taking your time to write a kind review for us. It is always lovely to hear about guests that plan to return to stay as we too look forward to seeing a familiar face. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Kauri Chalet as a family of three. It has a room upstairs with queen and single (very comfy beds), and a downstairs room with small sofa, chair, tv, well-equipped kitchen and eating area. There is a heater downstairs and it does a great job keeping the unit warm. There are decks to enjoy the view both upstairs and downstairs. The chalet was clean and very comfortable. The shower had plenty of hot water and there is a heated towel bar which is always nice. The view really makes this place and makes it a very enjoyable place to stay. The hosts, Rachel and Alby, are very pleasant and helpful.
The location is very close to wonderful hiking in the Kaueranga River Gorge. It is also close to town and a Pac n Sav.
WiFi comes with the unit but was very spotty during our stay. Also, there is no closet or hangers, etc. to hang clothes (but it is a chalet so perhaps that's why).
I highly recommend a stay here and will hopefully do so again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My favorite part of this place was the lovely family that runs it. The accommodations were lovely too, but they really do have a super sweet vibe that carries through the whole place.
One of the reasons I chose it is because of its hot tub. Unfortunately, they had just replaced it that day and hadn't hooked it up yet, so that wasn't available - but it means that they have a new hot tub!
They gave us great recommendations on how to drive over to the other part of the peninsula and generally were very hospitable and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank drfun1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Ahhhh - that was such a shame for you about the hot tub. Yes it is up and running now and the guests are loving it. Most of them comment about enjoying the stunning views and listening to the native New Zealand birds while enjoying their soak. You will have to come back one day to try it! Thanks so much for your kind words about the 'super sweet vibe' that runs through Grafton. Comments like this make our hearts melt as we really do aim to make every bodies stay here an enjoyable and pleasant one and it really makes us happy to know that what we are doing is working!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed just one night for my birthday, a 24 hour getaway, and thoroughly impressed with great offer on Manuka Chalet to accommodate our small dog, wonderful premises and exceptional service. Welcome liqueur and biscuits on arrival, breakfast brought on a tray the next morning. Nothing too much trouble from friendly hosts. WiFi didn't connect but it didn't matter and it might've been our device. Enjoyed dinner at the local hotel and a cosy retreat with sunset views. Very comfortable and quiet. Pool for summer and spa for winter. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Zen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbyandRachel, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your 24 hour birthday getaway! Sometimes that is all you need though to feel like you have had a break and celebrated your special day. It feels like that was a long time ago now - it really is crazy how time flies. People do enjoy breakfast delivered in the morning as then they can have it in their own time or even return to bed and have 'breakfast in bed' if they wish - something most of us can't do every day! We had just had the Wifi extended on the property when you stayed and at times it was a little temperamental - we have since had work done on the whole system and it now works perfectly in all of the 6 chalets, great for all our guests. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Sunday with your son. Thanks a lot for your kind review and the pictures you added too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice now, about a year apart. The first time was for his birthday a year ago and we were pleasantly surprised at the location, it's just minutes from Thames but once you are there, you feel like you have escaped to a private retreat above the city. The second stay was a few weeks ago. My husband booked it as a surprise for a "babymoon"! Normally we like to try new places out but I was happy to be coming back here. This time we discovered it had new owners, who have just made it even better! The breakfast was just as large and satisfying but there is a brand new spa pool and the decor is updated and has a beautiful clean Kiwiana feel. Our view from the Kauri chalet was gorgeous and we watched the sunset over the ocean as we ate dinner in front of the large window. Both times we have had wonderful friendly hosts and it's exciting to see what the new hosts are doing to make it an even nicer place to stay. Grafton cottages is becoming a favorite and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graftoncottage, Owner at Grafton Cottage and Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us for a second time! We are like you and often like to try new things but Grafton does have something special about it here in Thames. Like you say so close to town yet once here surrounded by nature with beautiful views so we too are pleased you came back. A 'babymoon' - how fabulous! What a neat idea and a nice treat from your husband.
Staying in a different chalet for you worked out good as even though you were here it probably felt a little different as well. The Kauri does have an awesome view and many people end up with a take out dinner and just sitting watching the sun set when staying in this chalet.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future, you can play 'spot the changes', and meeting your new little bundle of joy. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.8 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
114 reviews
23.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
160 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
13.3 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Cottage and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Cottage and Chalets

Address: 304 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: $98 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grafton Cottage and Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lonely Planets pick for Thames. Nestled high in the hills above Thames, Grafton Cottage and Chalets is in a excluded, peaceful tree-lined setting far from any traffic noise. At the end of each day exploring the Coromandel, relax in the spa, or simply laze by the pool overlooking the sea. BBQ your dinner while watching the sun set over the sea or sample the local restaurants. We offer self contained chalet accommodation in individually designed studio, 1 and 2 bedroom cedar chalets. A delicious full continental breakfast (Grafton Cottage style), on site staff and daily housekeeping is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Grafton Cottage and Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing