We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great variety. Friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Food For Thought

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Food For Thought
Ranked #18 of 52 Restaurants in Thames
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great variety. Friendly staff.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

In the centre of town with a great variety of food to choose from. Good strong coffee too. Plenty of seating with some outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank punkingirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pauanui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous food but not much ambience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped here for lunch because the sign out front said "award winning pies".
The cafe was tired and dated looking but the food looked delicious. We don't normally eat pies but they looked so good that we had one each plus coffees and cakes. All the food was really fresh and delicious, pies were extraordinarily good. The service was okay, we didn't have to wait long but staff could have been friendlier. The food was good enough for us to overlook the negatives and we would definately go again but might buy the pies etc to take away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GulfHarbourBadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waiting!!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We ordered drinks, coffee and pie and omelette . Finished everything then waited for another 25 minutes for omelette. No apologies- never again!!! Smiles would help too

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuinellaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
224 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Delicious food, especially the pies!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I do not like pies but when I go to this place I absolutely love them because they are delicious! Everything here is delicious and you can tell that it is fresh and home-made. I used to live just a few metres away from this cafe and I would come whenever I could to treat myself :)

Tip: I highly recommend that you sit in the "courtyard" out back because it is so nice and peaceful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZooGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A smile would improve it”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have lunch in Thames every Saturday and found the "food for Thought" to our liking and went there regularly. Then things started to happen. The smiling friendly waitress left a new girl started that never had a smile on her face (I think a smile is a necessity when dealing with the public). One day a pice of tomato fell off my plate when it was given to me. She said "That shouldn't have happened", and picked it up, with her fingers and put it back on the plate. Another time a caterpillar was walking around the lettuce. I sent it back but couldn't see how it was "fixed". The tables are now left and not cleared at once.
It is a pity as the food is all that you wish for - good.

We no longer go there for our Saturday treat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank wharetaare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food For Thought also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Food For Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing