We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU JUST CAN'T BEAT FISH AND CHIPS”

The Wharf Coffee House and Bar
Ranked #4 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Oakhill
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“YOU JUST CAN'T BEAT FISH AND CHIPS”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Just had lunch in this unpretentious place and can't praise it enough. You choose your fish, gurnard in our case, and it is battered and fried to order. Both fish and chips excellent, piping hot and fresh. Once ordered, there is a coffee shop (functional rather than pretty) where your food is brought when it's ready. Freshly brewed coffee and strawberry ice cream just completed a great meal. Unbelievably cheap and of the highest standard.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaytee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips and ice cream”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great place for a delicious lunch and drinks. Friendly service and the fish and chips are just great. Lovely ice creams too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dooleysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Coffee after 5? come here”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I love the setting of this place...set on an old wharf with a fish and chip shop next door that delivers to your coffee table. Black coffee is hot and full bodied.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RuthHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echuca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in town.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

You only have to see the number of cars parked nearby to see how popular this place is. Very fresh fish is cooked to your liking and in generous serves. We ordered 2snapper and 1 gurnard with kumara and potato chips. We found in our order an extra 2 pieces of fish. We ate at the accompanying cafe . While waiting I struck up a conversation with a lady who said she travelled regularly from 20 minutes away to get f & c as well as fresh fish. You wouldn't find better.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank garth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had coffee here recently on a Saturday afternoon. The coffee was really good, the service excellent and the views from the stools under the sliding windows very pleasant. The coffee house is small with nice seating both inside and outside. It is pleasant looking out over the Kauaeranga River. There are also great fish and chips next door.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf Coffee House and Bar also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Wharf Coffee House and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing