We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & quiet”
Review of Rolleston Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rolleston Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Dongara, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“clean & quiet”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent our first night in NZ here. Considering it was new years eve, we both slept well. We thought it might be noisy but wasn't. The motel is a bit dated but very clean & comfortable & with a good kitchenette. The manager was very helpful - marking the town map where restaurants etc. are located. Recommended The Brew for a good meal & drink - we weren't disappointed. He also pointed out various sights on the Coramandel map. With a Pak N Save supermarket down the road it was easy to pick up a few things for our continuing journey. There a few sights around town also worth checking out. We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaside3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    48
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived early Jan 2013 for 2 nights (one day) and was pleasantly surprised. Don't worry about first impressions, the building looks a bit dated but our room was clean, quite spacious with plenty of light and well equipped for a short stay. The pool was not heated on our visit but there was a heated spa. There is a small courtyard outside but only a view of the grassed back yard of the motel next door. Our hosts gave us good information on where to go and what to see in the area. It is a short walk into the main shopping street from the motel, probably 15 minutes, or a 2 minute drive. The motel is one street off the main road into Thames so there is some traffic noise but it did not disturb us at night. This motel is great value.

Room Tip: All apartments are at the rear of the property and offer the same amenities and outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill_chris58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The motel was very clean and welcoming. The room was a little dark but spacious, with cooking facilities. It had an outside sitting area, which was overlooked by the motel next door but not annoyingly so.
The outdoor heated swimming pool was good and there was an outside spa pool beside it which was lovely and warm.
It was a bit out of the centre so we drove into town, which has a wide range of shops and restaurants.
A nice base to return to after exploring the Coromandel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is an older style motel but it was spotlessly clean, airy and spacious. The shower was good and the bed comfortable. We had flown in from Sydney and so it was good to find a huge supermarket just down the road called Pak Lite. We stocked up for breakfast and a picnic lunch the next day. There are various places to eat in Thames. We went to the Natkontong a Vietnamese restaurant where the staff were extremely pleasant and the food was OK. Certainly not the 5 stars given in some reviews.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BISCUITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Rolleston Motel in Thames is located close to the road from Auckland but still very quiet. The rooms are equipped with kitchen. A small deck is located in front of the room, the view is not stunning. The rooms are clean, staff is nice.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pintos_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I think that this facility is rated at three star. I would give it four srars at least. A bus load of 31 seniors overflowed their facilities, but they arranged extra rooms in an adjacent motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TykeHBNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Whakatane . Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and the unit was spotless with very nice toiletries supplied. We really enjoyed sitting out in our patio area for breakfast the next morning with the lemon trees and didn't find it cramped as a previous guest has stated.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank book99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.2 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
100 reviews
23.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
12.9 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolleston Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolleston Motel

Property: Rolleston Motel
Address: 105 Rolleston Street | P.O. Box 228, Thames, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rolleston Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Rolleston Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing