We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again!”

Shortland Court Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shortland Court Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Negatives:
1. Lights wouldn't stay on for more than a few minutes, we gave up & tried to do paperwork in the dark, with just bedside lights! This was fixed the next day
2. Half of the TV chanels didn't work
3. Swipe card din't work on the second day
4. TV blew up
5. Tea coffee soap etc was not replenished
6. Bathroom door needed the strength of a body builder to open more than half way.
7. TV at an impossible angle to watch, why do motels put the TV near the ceiling?
8. Cat attacked me - I'm a cat person, have always had cats, but this one attacked with no warning, was told it was half wild, maybe it should not be in the office then.
9. We were given a room change, much better room, larger, an actual couch to sit in instead of dining chairs, TV on a table that you didn't wreck your neck watching, BUT when we wnt to get into bed their were..........................HAIRS IN IT, & not just head hair, the sheets had not been changed from the previous occupants
10. The male host was a grumpy B........d

Positives
1. The female host was friendly, until we had to keep ringing/visiting the office with the above issues
2. The second room was of a reasonable standard, except the kitchen tidy pedal didn't work, had to lift the lid instead.
3 They had a cat, even if it attacks without warning
4. Thinking hard, don't think I can find a fourth good thing

Seeing the very mixed reviews it seems to be luck of the draw whether you get a good room or not & whether the hosts are having a good day or not.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fibreartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Shortland Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2010

couldnt fault the place modern rooms large tv spa baths and a private courtyard a real home away from home we loved Simba the cat was very friendly and reminded us of our own
would highly recommend this motel to all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We can't imagine how they ever received good reviews on AAA trevel - it is more than strange. How could this more than dated motel with overrated prices achieve four stars? We were upset about the fact having booked for more than one night.

Frauke & Thomas, Munich, Germany

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roughtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shortcourt, Owner at Shortland Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2009

These rooms were opened in 2005. So they are not old. They chose to have a studio and they knew the price when that made the booking. It should be noted that the room in question had a double spa bath, a super kingsize bed, a 32 inch LCD television, a DVD player, a CD plyer, a private patio with outdoor furniture, Plunger coffee and a variety of beverages. This is why it is a 4 star property. Unfortunately there are people around who expect 4 star quality at a 2 star price, Maybe in future they should consider staying at a backpackers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We arrived late (after 8.30pm) and in the motel office, we were greeted by a bit too jolly landlady who, seeing we were foreigners, told us in very slurred speech we'd have to pay the top room rate 'since mid-November is high season' . We did not have much of a choice so we took the room.
Accomodation was ok but we did not appreciate being taken advantage of, especially by a barely coherent and completely drunk motel owner.

The following morning Madame was less than jolly (hung over, I suppose?) and made us feel quite unwelcome. We left well before the 10am check out time and frankly would never go back.

Best drive straight through Thames to the town of Coromandel!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank 1000Brussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shortcourt, Owner at Shortland Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

It has taken me a long time to answer this as I feel it is so dishonest
1.I do not drink . So how could I be drunk.
2. November is one of our busiest months of the year and full rates apply

I have nothing else to say

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

A good clean and comfortable motel which is easily found as it is on the main road and very conveniently situated within walking distance of the main street in Thames. Laundry facilities were free. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2007

Stayed for one night at the above with 2 children. Property recently renovated and very clean. Room itself was fully self contained with kitchenette, microwave etc, plus separate bedroom. Decor nice and bathroom recently updated/repainted. Only downside is some units right next to busy road and can be noisy early evening. Also, complex is no longer under Best Western banner. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Biddleonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sheaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.2 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Thames Motel
Avalon Thames Motel
#35 of 52 in Coromandel Peninsula
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
115 reviews
12.7 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shortland Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shortland Court Motel

Address: 208 Jellicoe Crescent | Jellicoe Crescent, Thames 2815, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range: $92 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shortland Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shortland Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shortland Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing