We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miranda Hot Springs

Miranda Hot Springs
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Thames
Attraction details
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

It cost $14 each to get in. We enjoyed the warmth of the hot pools, and the very large one was a novelty. However, we were put off by just how run down the place was. The single available shower was luke warm at best, and the shower/toilet block was really old, grotty looking. Wouldnt recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pragmatic_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    26
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BITTER TASTE OF THE PLACE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I would never go back again!!
we stayed at the Camping Ground Next Door (Which had the BEST friendly and clean service ever)
we went to the pools to check it out whilst getting our dinner.
the place is very unfriendly, totally run down and we left with a bitter taste in our mouth because of the way the staff were.
so unfriendly and unhelpful!!!! they just didnt care and it was written all over their face!! god know how this place is still running!!
....im so glad we had the use of a hot pool in camping ground
i will never recommend MIranda Hot Pools to ANYONE but the camping ground for sure!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendon1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Miraculsous Miranda and she's ain't two half hot either!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Miranda hot pools is a place of great historic value and olden day charms, Life certainly takes a comfortable step backwards in time when one sees this natural beauty for the first time. The grounds are generous with plenty of shaded cover to take in a quiet moment; before surrendering your weary body to the relaxing soul healing and spirit lifting peat water.That miraculously rejuvenates your body with merciful relief to everything that is tight, tired and sore! Miranda hosts an ample barbeque area to feed the army of friends and love ones you will be bringing back to experience this hot beauty charms. Private spa's for you and that special someone, plus a sauna pool to share with other people from around the world, who are either experiencing her hot charms for the first time, or are repeat users to her seductive charms of pleasurable heat! Miraculous Miranda and she's ain't two half hot either!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely relaxing hot pools, that we're actually hot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

My family and I had a lovely day at the hot springs. Staff were friendly, fish and chips were super and the pool was hot and so relaxing. Just regarding the negative reviews about this place, which could put people off coming. Does it really matter if the changing rooms are not 5 star? As you are only in them for 5 min any way! My only gripe is regarding the cost. It cost us $37 for two adults, 1 child over 4 and 1 child who is 2. We had previously visited ferndale hot springs on Saturday and sapphire springs on Sunday. ferndale was $19 for a family pass and sapphire was $18.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mellywelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We went to Miranda Hot Pools for a big family gathering to celebrate a birthday. We had a lovely day. The grounds are nicely looked after. There are plenty of BBQ facilities, good little playground for the children and variety of sized tables under shade. The pool is hot but you get use to it after a few minutes, the toddler pool is a perfect temperature for the littlies. We all had a great day and definitely will be returning.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Spegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miranda Hot Springs also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Miranda Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing