We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuscany on Thames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tuscany on Thames
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had a great stay in this motel. The only downside is the traffic noise but if you are there for work and up and about at business hours it is fine. Very clean and fantastic well equipped kitchen. Lovely staff too. Will happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramaticAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
50
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My mother and I arrived at the front desk and inquired about the room and cost. The motel rooms where higher than we expected. The front desk lady asked us what kind of budget we were looking for. I answered 90 to 100 nzd ( which is a good average price for twin rooms) at this time of the year ( may off season). The woman said that we should go to the backpackers up the road because "we are cheap backpackers" in a very arrogant and derogatory tone. No offense to backpackers but I though it was a pretty insulting thing to say in front of my 60 year old mother. So we ended up in the motel next-door. Very friendly woman within the budget and great rooms with great facilities!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waltraut54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nino7376, Owner at Tuscany on Thames, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Your response to our tariff indicated very definitly that you were not interested hence I did not offer to show you a unit and I do not justify that you state a price at what we should charge.There are travel guide books freely available in our country which give property details, star ratings and tariffs.
We accept everybody has a budget thus I asked you the question. I indicated two options within your price range one of these was a backpackers. It was not intended to be offending and you were not called cheap backpackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

On arrival we were slightly concerned at the proximity of the main road, but it didn't bother us much. The rooms, even the bath room, were very luxurious. The unit itself was enourmous with modern decor and kitchen. My only niggle was the small window in my bedroom, it was a thin rectangular shape along the top of the wall. Either it was to keep the noise of the road out, or stop people looking in as it faced the courtyard, but it was a bit off putting waking up in a room with no window to look out of.

Even so, I would stay here again as it was perfect for touring the Coromandel Peninsula, and the quality of the rest of room more than made up for it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becca143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We chose Thames as a base as we wanted to visit friends who live in the are and also wanted a good base from which to tour the Coromandel and Thames provided this. We picked Tuscany on Thames as it had good reviews and we were not disappointed. The accommodation is spacious, the bathroom was really well equiped with a huge spa bath and the kitchen area had all the facilities needed to do your own catering if you wanted to, which we did. We stayed 5 days in the area and were very happy with the accommodation and the warm welcome we received, we also enjoyed the visits from Cassie the golden retriever who was very interested in visiting especially when we were cooking. Although it's on the main road, it's quiet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This motel certainly cannot be described as nestled between what the owners would like you to believe. It is just several feet from a very, very busy road (SH25) and looks over to a car factory ! At $170 a night it is a total rip off . I have relied on booking through the AA on quite a few occasions but now I am sceptical about any future bookings. Sadly after paying out a fortune to travel from England I cannot afford to walk away from the pre booked 2 night stay as they cleverly have a 48 hour clause where you lose a full nights payment if you cancel.
DON'T book this place if you think you are going to get a tranquil stay ! We stayed at a peaceful place called Lynton Lodge in Pauanui on the other side of the Coromandels before we came here. Wish we'd stayed !
By the way ...The pool is tiny and placed just off two converging roads. Very clever photograpy !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueKiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nino7376, owner at Tuscany on Thames, responded to this review, January 21, 2010
We do not advertise a quiet location or spectacular views. Our motel was the wrong choice for you but please appreciate we have 1000s' of satisfied guests each year who thoroughly enjoy our 4 star plus accommodation including the swimming pool and its' surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

If only I had found this site before booking. The dragon... I have never met anyone in the industy as rude as this operator/manager. She is in the wrong industry. She looks at you like your something stuck to the sole of her shoe and doesnt repond when you talk to her. just amazing, should have walked out when a blank look was the response to hi how are you as I walked into reception.Would reccommend looking up personality and hospitality as she doesnt know the meaning

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nonsensenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nino7376, owner at Tuscany on Thames, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
This makes no sense to us. We enjoy our guests and liasion with them and cannot imagine how we could check a visitor "in" remaining mute.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

All in all a nice stopover but beware of The Dragon! The motel itself provides good, clean accommodation with lovely bathrooms and a nice kitchen facility. There is a very small swimming pool on site (it looks far bigger in the brochure) and free internet (wi-fi). The downside to the place is the woman in reception with an authoratative air(OwnerManager?) and a snooty attitude who checked us in with such disdain that we did wonder if we were going to make the grade to be allowed to stay at all! Most unwelcoming. Having told us that check-out was at 10 am, by 10.15 as we were gathering our last bits and pieces together, she was hammering on the door to throw us out. and she was extremely rude that we were not ready on the dot of 10 am. In 4 weeks travelling NZ we have left hotels and motels extremely early, on time and a little late but we have never experienced this attitude before either in NZ or anywhere else and wondered how she gets on when the motel is full and everyone is trying to check out at once dead on 10 am.

  • Liked — Convenient location en route to Auckland from The Coramandel
  • Disliked — The unfriendly welcome and the inflexible checkout
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nino7376, owner at Tuscany on Thames, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
Check out time is 10:00am and 15 - 20 minutes later is acceptable but after that time (which from memory was this case) we do liase with guests to know how much later they intend to depart. Please respect we have a busy routine to work through to have units ready for in coming guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
0.2 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
23.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
480 reviews
12.7 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
134 reviews
12.4 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscany on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany on Thames

Property: Tuscany on Thames
Address: Jellicoe Crescent, Thames SH 25, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tuscany on Thames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tuscany on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany On Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing