We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of gastronomics

gastronomics
Ranked #38 of 52 Restaurants in Thames
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I ordered duck and it was fatty non rendered and dry tasted like liver I was very disappointed felt the meals of my friends were very ordinary Was a shame as we had heard good reports

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shona52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    10
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tapu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disorganised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went as a work end of year christmas do. We were booked and when we arrived our table was not even set with cutlery. We had to ask for water on our table. Two young people served us, and we had to order drinks at one counter and pay at another. When I selected what I wanted for a main I was then advised it was not available

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special, wouldnt go back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The worst decor I have seen in a while. Mains were OK, would prefer smaller a better cut of steak over the big chewy piece of meat I got. Desert was horrible. Supermarket cake, defrosted berrys on the side not worth the 10.50 dollars I paid.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Regan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Excellent service and really great food.
Good size portions - lovely seating next to the front of the restaurant.
Friendly staff, nice ambiance and decor.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had a super steak dinner there recently. Pub prices, but the quality of the meal was several steps up from that. Excellent service and generally a very positive and friendly atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemarystclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed gastronomics also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to gastronomics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing