We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Nakontong Thai Restaurant at Thames
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Thames is on the Coromandel Peninsula
Thames
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Awesome food. Great prices. Friendly staff. Try the lunch specials only $10 and a varied menu. Place is always busy - must be good

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    73
    23
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I would probaly call myself a reular at Nakongtong Thai Restarant and have found it to be constantly a high standard. The lady that greets you (who I should know's name) is always very happy to see you and always smiling. I have taken alot of my friends over the last couple of weeks as they do a $10 lunch which you get lots of choices and is delicious well priced and very good servings. We are lucky to have this restarant in Thames.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NZVICKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place to go in Thames NZ”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The flavours of the food were wonderful and the sevice was grand. The dacore of the restaurant reflected Thailand wonderfully. The waitress was very obliging and I would reccomond this restaurant to one and all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not bad”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

DISCLOSURE:
I love Krapow Kai. I love Asian food. I’ve been to Thailand and I make my own Krapow Kai. So I get that the interpretation of the dish is wide open.

ATMOSPHERE:
It is decorated in Chiang Mai Style.

FOOD:
Horrible!!! Taste was so bad I’ve been living in Kiwi and was looking forward to some quality Asian food. Big fail. Tom yum (usually my favorite part) was far too salty and not remotely spicy. The only 4 recognizable ingredients were green onion, prawn, mint, and plethora of mushrooms. Not the exotic straw mushroom, but plain white mushrooms. Just a school of them floating on top, like dead bodies. And the main dish, Krapow Kai, it was very dry. The chicken is so tough. I think I can cook better than chef.

SERVICE:
Friendly staff.


OVERALL:
If the soup is any indication, don’t even think about stopping here. Krapow Kai is kinda like dog food. I will visit this restaurant again because I want to just say hi to staff (Moby) He is the coolest staff I have met

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stummerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately have to try more than one dish”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Good food and great service. The hosts are very polite and attentive. It was busy every time I went in, so very popular place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_G999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakontong Thai Restaurant at Thames also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Nakontong Thai Restaurant at Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing