We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful spot within Coromandel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dickson Holiday Park
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Thames
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our first stop on a 10 day camper van trip around North Island and we stayed 2 nights.. The site is set up from the main road (about a km) and is a small to medium size. Peaceful location close to walks etc and a good spot for further exploration into the Coromandel.
The amenities are a little basic there are signs up in the ladies shower block stating that an upgrade in facilities was due soon. There is a well equipped kitchen and a small laundry room. There is also a tv/games room.
The owner was welcoming, gave us information re local walks etc and discount voucher for entry to the on site butterfly house.and there was 1hrs worth of complimentary wifi given. (All other sites we visited charged for wifi).
The site was quiet and pitches/hook ups well placed and screened.
Having said that the amenities were basic it suited us ok. This site is popular with backpackers too.
It is about 3kms from Thames for supermarkets, restaurants and takeaways.
There is an on site swimming pool again a bit basic but fine for the kids.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: I emailed ahead (from UK) re booking a site but as it was mid November it wasn't busy anyway so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handy M, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you Janice! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Did your partner notice that the Mens showers have been rebuilt with mixers, individual trays and all new partitions? All the equipment to renovate the Ladies is on hand and will go ahead as soon as busy season slows to let work begin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 97 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent in Dickson Park almost one month as wwoofers and we loved the site. It is a peaceful place few kilometers from Thames surrounded by trees. It is close to an amazing bush walk going through the forest partly along a stream ended up with a waterfall. In the property there is a swiming pool for refreshing during hot days and a minigolf for playing and enjoying afternoons. What is also wanderful and is worth to visiting is a butterfly garden situated within Dickson Park. We are sure we would love to return back and stay there a couple of days more as we miss the place, the people there and the quite and nice atmosphere.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank nela23609157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in a kitchen cabin which sleeps 4, it was basic but clean, comfortable & warm. These cabins were past the reception and situated by I'm guessing permanent residents. I would probably only stay here again if there was nowhere else to go.
Pros: It is well off the road and quiet, it is close to bush walks, river and beach area. It was nice basic accommodation.
Cons: There is a lot of old junk everywhere, toilet block needs spruce up, there was something dead somewhere around our cabin because it stunk when the sun was out.
I travelled with my two daughters who enjoyed the adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This was our first experience of a holiday park and camping and having stayed only one night we will definilely try it again.

We paid NZ$38 for two people to camp. Our pitch was surrounded on 3 sides by grape bushes and although we initially thought we were close to neighbouring tents and caravans, we certainly had privacy and quiet. Indeed the park had plenty of visitors yet not once were we disturbed by noise or crowds.

The park is 4km from Thames, has a small onsite shop stocking the things you've forgotten, a pool, trampoline, mini golf and several accomodation options including camping, mobile home,cabins and static caravans. It also has wide variety of brochures, including discounts for attractions in area. Suggested hiking routes are also available.

Found it difficult to rate the site out of 5 as it is our only experience of this type of site. It certainly is not average but felt kitchen and toilets could be improved. So 3.8 out of 5 it is.

Room Tip: Sites furthest from the reception area have least traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ka058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Rien en Marjet Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: egal, ist ein Campingplatz passt soweit alles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuernberg68er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Kévin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thames hotels
12.4 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
268 reviews
10.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
2 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
123 reviews
3 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickson Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickson Holiday Park

Address: 115 Victoria Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Thames
Price Range: $59 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dickson Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing