We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Coromandel stay”
Review of The Junction Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Junction Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Hotel wooden framed building dating from 1868 (Coromandel Gold Rush) and Thames still has the feel of a Wild West town. Had 2 night stay in twin bedded room at very good rate (low season). Decent sized room in minimalistic decor but none the worse for that - you can live from suitcase (no fitted wardrobes, chairs etc - perhaps other rooms different). Beds very comfortable. Plug in electric heater - with cut off when room comfortably warm. Effective separate wet room for shower/WC facility. No TV in room but nearby residents lounge with wide screen TV and free tea, coffee and milk. Separate fridge and cooking facilities available. Staff (2) very friendly. Downstairs bar recently opened and town cinema next door.

Hotel on main street with many cafes, bars and restaurants nearby. Many reminders of town's mining history still remain - museums, tours of gold mine and stamping battery, narrow gauge railway etc. Care needed on drive north to Coromandel town and some west/east roads still unsealed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 80 of 80 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2010

Totally amazing hosts! Jenny and Brent went out of their way to make everything just right. We arrived at 3am (due to hold-ups on the way) but we were greeted at the door and shown to our accommodation straight away, without any hassles.
The room was very well presented, very clean and crisp. Wonderful shower!
Hotel is situated in a great place, very handy for shopping and Saturday market.
We will definitely be returning to stay again, and have recommended The Junction Hotel to everyone we know.
Look forward to seeing you again Jenny and Brent....keep up the great work! Cheerrs, Tracy :-)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Elodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mandinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thames hotels
0.3 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
123 reviews
12.5 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
263 reviews
11.9 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
2.1 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Junction Hotel

Address: 700 Pollen Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a historic hotel located in the heart of downtown Thames. Just two blocks from the water and easily accessible to many restaurants and local attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing