We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Junction Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Thames
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Avalon Motel Thames(Coromandel Peninsula)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Seaspray Motel(Coromandel Peninsula)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
23
38
19
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
38
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvaried menurestaurant downstairssized mealsbudget hotelplace is cleangastro pubthe main streetplace to eatnight stayroom was cleanmusselsrecommend this placerail trailgreat accommodationgood sizethe kitchenensuite
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 89 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a lovely dinner there on Valentines day. Karl was a charming and pleasant host and even though it was a very busy night he went out of his way to be accomodating.The staff were very pleasant and friendly.It was a really nice dinner in pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The general manager went out for a walk in the busy weekend. And leaved no one in the reception, and then a staff from the bar come up and help to the booking and check in and telling me that's a private toilet room. And cost 95NZ and later on in the website it was billed cheaper. Feeling like a wipe off here. And then when I entered in the room and find that's no toilet, and the GM was back and refuse to change room for me and if I want leave they charge me 50%, and they blame on the client misunderstanding and not there staff provide the wrong information. However, even if you want to change to a smaller room which should be 40NZ, they will not refund you the extra you pay and will also charge you for another 40!! The GM's attitude is so terrible that not even listening to the client's compliant and blame it on the client. It's so terrible that not consider the client is from oversea and a single girl that's not feeling secure with a public toilet and shower and unisex one!!!
It's the most terrible experience I ever had in the hospitality business and I will not recommend to any friends or relatives to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJKunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The stay was fine here, the room was decent and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Downstairs had great food and drinks. The only down side to staying here, is that there is not a lot to do in Thames. Apart from this it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We'd been camping for a week and craved a mattress so we enquired at the Junction which is more of a backpackers than a hotel. We were given the only family room available which slept five (we were three) and was a very reasonable price, the room had a TV and dinner table too. We ate in the hotel restaurant which was fantastic. Kitchen and bathroom facilities are shared which was novel (for us) and our little girl loved it. The building is 144 years old which is really old for NZ and the slightly sloping hallway adds to it's charm. We ordered a continental breakfast for two and said we would share with the child. The lovely and very friendly hotel manager turned up with three portions of each item free of charge which was awesome. It's not flash but we loved the Junctions' quirky charms and if we're ever in Thames we'll stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apollo2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The diner is new, we gather. It's definitely worth stopping by to enjoy. Chef knows how to cook, service is cheerful and efficient - the steaks were done perfectly and all the dishes were tasty and well-proportioned. As a diner, it's informal and a bit noisy, but there again that's the charm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews