We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Surprise”

RAPAURA Watergardens
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mature property, which has evolved over more than 45 years, Rapaura Watergardens offers something for everyone; native trees, ferns, seasonal flora, lily ponds, meandering walks over lush green lawns, bridges and streams, garden sculptures by an award winning artist and a relaxing bush walk to a cascading waterfall, ‘The Seven Stairs to Heaven’.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Surprise”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My son and daughter arranged a surprise birthday lunch for my wife whilst we were staying on the Coramandel and Sally & Sasha made her feel like the Queen.Sasha even came in on his birthday to cook lunch for us which was absolutely superb and the attention to detail was oustanding.The watergardens were delightful,and are well worth the short detour from the coastal highway and combined with lunch is an unmisseable combination.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    36
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“true water garden experience”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

we have experienced these gardens on a number of occasions and they are particularly enhanced in the rain - the cafe provides excellent lunchtime food and there is accommodation onsite if you wish to stay out in the bush

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Corax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Disliked nothing. Lovely owner and her son is an excellent chef. The gardens are amazing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TiddlesBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
311 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Most of the attraction is a walk through native bush to see a water fall, have walked through more native bush to see more spectacular water falls for no charge.
There ware several other gardens don't know if it was worth its cover charge.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful garden and better food!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We visited on a grey Waitangi day and spent 1 1/2 hours walking round the gardens engrossed in our photography. After a wonderful peaceful time we ate at the restaurant (good reviews) and had a fantastic meal. I had flounder and my wife steak; both were cooked as well as anything we have eaten in NZ. The serving staff were great, spending time to have a chat and answer some questions on the garden. Thoroughly recommended

Helpful?
Thank OwlsHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RAPAURA Watergardens also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to RAPAURA Watergardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing