We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who says Thames has nothing to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We arrived at chatre manor after a very stressful six hour drive from kerikeri in pouring rain.
On arrival Pauline had the kettle on, tea made and homemade cake and biscuits out. Yum.
Beautiful view from our room, bed good and breakfast delicious. Pauline and Dennis are welcoming and hospitable. We only stayed one night but due to weather issues went back 2 nights later. It was like coming home. Thank you Pauline and Dennis.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandparent65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 48 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay, Pauline and Dennis were the perfect hosts and the tea, biscuits and sweets at any time of the day were an addition that was most welcome. The views from the balcony are stunning and the sunsets are to die for. Breakfast is exceptional and coupled with the view can be quite memorable. The rooms are clean and comfortable with Pauline turning down the covers for you makes this a 5* place to stay. Great location for the Coromandel with ideal restaurants in Thames after a hard day sight-seeing. I can see why people keep coming back here to stay, very relaxing.

Room Tip: All rooms are of excellent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredtheTread538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed two nights with Pauline & Dennis but was not long enough. They made us feel very much at home. Comfortable bed, delicious breakfast and unbelievable views across Coramandel bay. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the sea facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What an amazing find!
Chartre Manor was such a delight.
It was winter when we stayed and we were made extremely welcome with a wood fire, biscuits and sweets!
The breakfasts are filling and gorgeous.
The rooms are just stunning, great views, SUPER CLEAN!
We loved this place and will be back again next year!
Thank you x

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views as the manor is set on the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLondonLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had been to Thames and the Coromandel area many times, but staying here was the best choice. While the cute town of Thames is only a 5 minute drive down the hill, this peaceful elevated location looks both to the expansive firth of Thames and its many bays out the front, as well as the forest of the coromandel range and sheep paddocks and llamas out the back. Comfortable veranda seating outside to take in the views both front and back. The main house has a lovely outdoor pool too. We watched a beautiful pheasant fly by, landing to look for food, right in front of us. We stayed in the separate cottage with our own kitchen and lounge, and a lovely wood burner to keep us warm and cozy on a chilly night. The whole place was VERY clean, and well appointed. Huge walk in closet and bathroom. Fabulous bed and sheets, even an electric blanket. Pauline and Dennis are such a lovely pair, giving us quiet time to relax yet giving us local tips at breakfast. Breakfast was amazing - see picture attached. I would stay no where else in Thames. This made my vacation get started right - a true, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeRiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was an excellent stay with great hospitality and facilities. The service was very good and I especially liked the cooked meals. The house was very clean and homely and had an amazing view. I would certainly recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Chartre Manor was the best place we stayed in while visiting New Zealand. We could not have imagined better care and service from Dennis and Pauline, who treated like family from the minute we walked in their door! The view was fantastic - you have to catch the sunset from there - and the place itself is gorgeous. Our room was immaculately decorated and had a gorgeous view of the river meeting the ocean.

The breakfast was so delicious and hearty we weren't hungry for the entire day and just the smell of Pauline's baked goods will make any traveler smile.

We can't wait to go back to New Zealand just to visit Chartre Manor again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miche945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thames hotels
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
157 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
13.3 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
0 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 306 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: $132 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somewhere special to base yourself whilst exploring the Coromandel. One night is not enough. 3 spacious rooms, s/c romantic cottage and conference venue with specialized catering for small meetings. Delicious complimentary breakfast included with accommodation. In-house beauty treatments. Eco-friendly environment with free range eggs, fruit trees and homegrown vegetables. Tudor style architecture. Magnificent sunsets, panoramic views and rural outlook from the highest point. Private, peaceful, relaxing setting. Enticing and secluded pool. Free broadband and wireless, library in guest lounge. Laundry facilities inclusive. Pauline and Dennis are welcoming hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing