We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in the cottage for 5 nights and were very pleased with the size, layout and warm feel to it. The fire place was a special bonus! The breakfast is exceptional and so is the service. The view from the verandah is beautiful overlooking the entire town.

Pauline and Dennis are great hosts and make you feel most welcome. You will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 48 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent almost one week at the Chatré Manor and we really enjoyed our stay there. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and lovely decorated. Breakfast was really delicious and various. From the first day we were amazed of the great view from the veranda. We also enjoyed swimming in the pool. Pauline and Dennis are fantastic hosts and we felt like being a part of the family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We loved our stay at Chartre Manor in Thames NZ. Not only was the accommodation fantastic but the hosts Pauline and Dennis were really lovely. We arrived late and they asked us to join them for dinner and a bottle of wine rather than us having to go out and find a place to eat. Their knowledge of the area was great and they have the most beautiful views from the house. Pauline is a great cook and breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donandcarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed with Pauline and Dennis for a week and it was the best time i had in New Zealand.
The place is just amazing especially at dusk you can watch great sunsets over the town.
You can start a day with a healthy breakfast and enjoy day by the pool or just pop down town where you can also do some pottery classes.
Rooms are clean and it's perfect place to relax. While i was there i learned how to make yummy scones just ask Dennis he will help you!
Thank you very much for a lovely time!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivik11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I had a wonderful time with Pauline and Dennis. A welcoming atmosphere, healthy food out of their organic garden and lovely home baking made my stay exceptional. The large sunny house has stunning views over the town and firth of Thames, it stands alone in a quiet position but only minutes away from town.
You’ll sleep in clean, comfortable beds, enjoy free internet, a guest lounge and an outside swimming pool. What more can I say?

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohannLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

this has been the most awsome B&B experience ever! Pauline and Dennis make you so very welcome in their most beautiful home with the grandest view available over the kauronga river and the sea, only 3 minutes drive from Thames town center. their organic garden, chicken and cows make you feel as peaceful as the fresh air blow drying your laundry in the garden. Breakfast is rich and very tasty! And do not forget to take a dip in the swimming pool. The generous guest lounge with TV and all rooms are decorated with gusto and very clean and inviting. there is wireless internet throughout the property - thank you Pauline and Dennis for making your home my home away from home! yours Maha

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4guemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

This is a home away from home. Denis and Pauline are very welcoming and ensure that their guests needs are taken care of. Chartre Manor is spotlessly clean with good quality furnishings and fittings and with an extra touch of luxury. The location is ideal for exploring both the west and east coasts of Coromandel Peninsula. A great place for a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thames hotels
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
155 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
13.3 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
0 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 306 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: $132 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somewhere special to base yourself whilst exploring the Coromandel. One night is not enough. 3 spacious rooms, s/c romantic cottage and conference venue with specialized catering for small meetings. Delicious complimentary breakfast included with accommodation. In-house beauty treatments. Eco-friendly environment with free range eggs, fruit trees and homegrown vegetables. Tudor style architecture. Magnificent sunsets, panoramic views and rural outlook from the highest point. Private, peaceful, relaxing setting. Enticing and secluded pool. Free broadband and wireless, library in guest lounge. Laundry facilities inclusive. Pauline and Dennis are welcoming hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing