We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service, very clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miranda Holiday Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Miranda Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, very clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is our second stay at Miranda Holiday Park. The first time was in motor homes and we were so impressed that we went back a second time.
This time we stayed in a studio type cabin which was impeccable. The position was great and it had everything you could wish for in the room. Great heating, comfy beds, coffee plunger :), and plenty of kitchen utensils.
The hot pool in the park is just lovely and even though I have young children (I left them at home this time), I love the way it becomes adults only after 8.
I would recommend this park to anyone of any age.

Room Tip: Ask for away from the children's play area if you like a sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzaaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    61
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
84
95
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is the most relaxed I have been in years. The accomodation is wonderful, immaculately clean and well organised with very comfortable beds. The staff are so friendly and extremely helpful. The pool is maintained to a high standard and is sheer luxury to soak in. I am already planning another weekend there with family, it suits old and young and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

What a wonderful place, we had such a great time that we are now booking our third trip this year. The Chalets are great and fitted our family in so well. Its a great place to go as a family and you leave relaxed and rejuvinated.

We would recommend this stay to anyone, the facilities are great the people are great. If you don't want to drive to far out of Auckland then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becs1978_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for your nice comments. Relaxed and rejuvinated is how we like our guests to leave us. Look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

When we were badly let down by apollo campervans Russell and Philippa (the management) were incredibly helpful and so welcoming. They went out of there way to help us and ensured the issues were sorted meaning we could relax and enjoy the fantastic facilities such as the huge hot pool! We would really recommend this park to anyone wanting to visit the area, we have yet to find a park that comes close to it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your comments, it was our pleasure to assist you when you had troubles with your campervan and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

this was a amazing place to stay for the weekened . Hot pool was just great for this cold winter weather.
from member no : 40632

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nallypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
So good to know you enjoyed your weekend. Thank you for your comments and hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Miranda Holiday Park was recommended by my Aunty. My 3 year old son and I had a great time and this trip highlighted how important it is to spend quality time away from work and everyday life. I drove from Auckland and studk with the main highway heading towards Thames. I was blown away with what was included during our stay and had I known I would have turned up with a half a car load rather than a full one!!! Thank you to the lovely ladies that made us feel welcome. I will definitely be going back. Sincerely, Rakeiti Shepherd, Coordinator and mum of one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rakei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Happy to hear you and your son enjoyed your time here. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

It is a “Holiday Park”, for all sorts of travelers, located near the north coast, about 20 miles from Thames and the Coromandel, and about an hour’s drive from Auckland airport. There is nothing much except fields around. It is quiet and pretty, and has a beautiful large, shaded thermal hot pool, and other sports facilities. The people who run it are wonderfully helpful.
Available accommodations include ensuite apartments, motel units and cottages, caravan hookups, tent sites, and backpacker rooms for several people (rented for one or two people at very reasonable rates), which are small rooms with bunk beds, frig, and mirror. Linens and wifi are additional but cheap. Bathroom, laundry, and an extensive kitchen are in the central block a few steps away. It is all new and clean as can be. If you arrive late, they may provide a breakfast bag with bread, butter, jam, fruit salad, and vegemite... Coffee or tea can be had from a machine in the kitchen. You can buy a bottle of NZ wine at the front desk –
Lucky me, I felt like, “Ahhhh!” After a sojourn on a small and hot island, I was pretty sure I’d found heaven. Of course NZ is like that, and this was NZ at its best.
Next door is - not a restaurant exactly, - but a creative cook. I’ve forgotten what the specialty was, perhaps ice cream, but there was also food for dinner, and I carried it across to an outdoor dining table – lovely!
I’d go back in a heartbeat. I’d stay awhile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for a great review, it's great to here you enjoyed our Holiday park.
Wish you all the best on future sojourns.

Kind Regards
The team at Miranda Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thames hotels
12.5 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
12.4 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
12.1 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Dickson Holiday Park
Dickson Holiday Park
#5 of 11 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
18.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
13.1 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Holiday Park

Property: Miranda Holiday Park
Address: 595 Front Miranda Road, Thames 3576, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miranda Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning holiday park situated on the scenic Auckland / Coromandel highway - 1hr SE of Auckland, 55 minutes from Auckland Airport, 25 minutes from Thames. A choice of self catering accommodation to suit all budgets and needs, including paraplegic facilities. 1 Bedroom & studio motel apartments, 1 bedroom & 2 bedroom chalets, backpackers lodge, tent & camper-van sites. Wireless internet. Complimentary tennis court, volley ball court, small BMX track & hot mineral pool onsite. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Miranda Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miranda Holiday Park Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing