We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere and Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rendezvous

Rendezvous
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere and Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The atmosphere out there is amazing, live on the other side of the city but it is well worth the trip

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lainey_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dinner out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was pleasant but we were hoping for a quieter atmosphere - it's a lively, family/work do sort of place, and the pork belly was pretty minimal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andamos_bien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via Local Picks

We ate an evening meal here recently and it was great. I was hesitating over my choices and the friendly waitress offered me substitutes so it suited my taste. The meal was superb! We also enjoyed the licorice cheesecake for dessert.
We have enjoyed bar snacks and a game of pool in the past. The service is always friendly and welcoming and the food good. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Dannel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been here about three times for a meal and several times for coffee and cake. I have enjoyed the food every time and love the big arm chairs for sitting in with my coffee and cake. The staff seem to be pleasant and helpful. No complaints there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gem059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Twice Bitten, Twice Shy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Had been invited out to dine here for a celebration. Had not dined here since our first experience approx. 3 years ago. Disappointed then and disappointed yet again. Over rated, over priced and staff that looked like they'd rather be somewhere else. Risotto was stodgy, Pork Belly main, extremely fatty and cold. I know pork belly is loaded with flat, but a cut that was a 1/3 fat with no meat attached, which I left on the plate, shocking. Strawberry & Almond Tart dessert, average at best. I'm a huge dessert fan and had trouble eating it, the pastry was soft and the filling so sweet and runny. The only good thing I really have to say about the establishment is that they make a good coffee. Won't be going back any time soon. Would be a good idea to update the pricing on your details. Meals are seem to be $20 - $36

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rendezvous also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing