We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit, consistently good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Cuba

Cafe Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of Palmerston North Cafe Cuba is an iconic and popular place to have that next coffee, catch-up, meeting or meal. Here at Cafe Cuba we have a large cuisine menu which is sure to tempt your taste buds. Offering an all day breakfast and brassiere we invite you come in and dine with us every day from 7.00am right through to our dinner dining from 6.00pm until late, Cafe Cuba is also great place to take the family with a full children’s menu available.At Cafe Cuba we know the importance of a great coffee, our fully trained staff are equipped to deliver a great coffee to you, with take away coffee available. We are fully licensed and have a large range of Wine, Bottled Beer, RTD’s, Spirits and non-alcoholic beverages
Palmerston north
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to visit, consistently good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am part of the furniture at Cafe Cuba, Ive come from the first day it ever opened, it took about four years to come alive, now it is a vibrant cafe with delicious food. Some of the waiters need a bit a of training, but I guess it's hard as there seems to be quite a turn around with staff. Lovely atmosphere, great out door seating, but that silly corner outside that used to have a round about, why they took it away I will never know?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    183
    62
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Popular and extensive menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Plenty of variety on menu. Breakfast good - Savoury Mince with spinach & poached egg tasty. Tacos at lunch extremely good. Happy patrons, indoor and outdoor seating and big variety of drinks & smoothies.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food -friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Down to earth restaurant with an excellent choice on the menu. Staff very pleasant & efficient. Deserts to 'die for' !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KootenayGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our Local When in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We are occasional visitors to Palmerston North and when staying in town we always have breakfast and usually dinner too, at Cuba. They are open early (7.00am) including Sunday mornings when all else seems to be closed, but most importantly offer a varied menu of bistro-style food that is well-presented and always good quality. Service is cheerful, prompt and suitably relaxed for the style of the cafe but nothing is to much trouble. I recommend the eggs benedict...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanfamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapiti New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“found my happy place in Palmy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Visited Cuba Cafe last Friday with a large group of friends and it was a very positive experience. The Staff immediately accomodated our seating reqirement....We hadn't booked....but more importantly the food was delish!....everything....from the dream slice to the nachos ...to the Thai salad (absolutely delicious)...coffees were all perfect and the custard sqares/vanilla slice 10 out of 10. We would not bother looking elsewhere in Palmerston North.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GozKapiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cuba also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Cafe Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing