We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese Pub Style Food”

Yatai Japanese Izakaya Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Pub Style Food”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Wonderful authentic Japanese food, on the expensive end, but great for a special occasion or treat.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank thejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    36
    5
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Array of Japenese Food”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We normally take a group here and get a banquet. For around $35.00pp you get to eat around 8-10 different dishes which are all amazing.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive but well worth it! Excellent food presentation and sushi top grade!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My friends was over here for a visit and we thought of going to the restaurant (Japanese) this time. The sushi was very good! as well as sashimi! I would love to come back again!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank richardfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday treat 2011”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The food, service and ambiance were top class.. it's a restaurant I have recommended to many other people since.

Helpful?
Thank Greenlane007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
2 reviews
“Absolutely sensational - so we went back the next night”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Went tried Yatai for the first time and at first we were unsure we were in the right place, we kind of felt like we were in suburbia. But as we entered the restaurant we realised why you should never judge a book by it's cover. From the moment we walked in we were impressed. The decor, the greeting, the walk through the menu by the informative host (Barbara, we think, the owner). We were introduced to the Japanese pub concept and were suggested foods. One of us was weight watching and Barbara suggested good healthy options and suggested pages to avoid. All in all - our meal was so fantastic we kept ordering - and we loved it so much we came back the next night - and bought friends. This restaurant is a must visit if you are a Japanese food lover! Highly recommend was the sashimi, meat skewers, chicken curry, pork stirfry and the homemade Italian desserts (do try the black sesame seed and the green tea - sublime).

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yatai Japanese Izakaya Restaurant also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Yatai Japanese Izakaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing