We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat 2011”

Yatai Japanese Izakaya Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday treat 2011”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The food, service and ambiance were top class.. it's a restaurant I have recommended to many other people since.

Helpful?
Thank Greenlane007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    36
    5
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Napier
2 reviews
“Absolutely sensational - so we went back the next night”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Went tried Yatai for the first time and at first we were unsure we were in the right place, we kind of felt like we were in suburbia. But as we entered the restaurant we realised why you should never judge a book by it's cover. From the moment we walked in we were impressed. The decor, the greeting, the walk through the menu by the informative host (Barbara, we think, the owner). We were introduced to the Japanese pub concept and were suggested foods. One of us was weight watching and Barbara suggested good healthy options and suggested pages to avoid. All in all - our meal was so fantastic we kept ordering - and we loved it so much we came back the next night - and bought friends. This restaurant is a must visit if you are a Japanese food lover! Highly recommend was the sashimi, meat skewers, chicken curry, pork stirfry and the homemade Italian desserts (do try the black sesame seed and the green tea - sublime).

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A little slice of Japan”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Lovely esepcially if you want to try some authentic Japanese food. Much better to go with a group as the idea is to order several small dishes to share over a period of time...can be on the expensive side but nice for a celebration

Helpful?
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good food good atmosphere slightly pricey”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Excellent Food and Ambiance Food abit pricy better options cost wise in Palmerston North but great for a special occasion

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peegee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Awesome place, beautiful food, beautiful presentation, friendly staff, well worth a visit, if you have not been before, the staff fill you in on how the menu works and then you enjoy the lovely food!! and the next time you go you will be an expert on using chop sticks!! Forks are available!! :)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine12371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yatai Japanese Izakaya Restaurant also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Yatai Japanese Izakaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing