We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food & service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aberdeen

Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, New Zealand, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

On a recent visit to Palmerston North we were very fortunate to be shouted dinner at Aberdeen.
Once again Aberdeen your food and service were "second to none" For entree, two of us shared the bruschetta and hubby had the bluff oysters. Love the bruschetta - has to be one of the best I have tasted. My main of blue cod was divine. Hubby had a steak (can't remember which one) and he said it was cooked to perfection (he has med - well & I'm sure the chef's hate him for it) Wait service was fantastic and at the end of the night when we said "thank you" as the dishes were being cleared from our table the male waiter answered "it was a pleasure to have you"..... Amazing!! On the way out, hubby commented on the efficiency of the girl on reception (he did compliment her)
The times we have been to Aberdeen, the food and service is consistent and they haven't failed to please. We will be back - its one of the highlights of our Palmy North visits.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenys482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    119
    25
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Went with a work colleague on a week night,the service is so good,wine was recommended by our waiter,awesome choice,the food is so good can not fault a thing at all

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaffajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
222 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great meal as usual but a happy birthday greeting was missing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a favourite place to go for special occasion dining for us and as usual the food did not disappoint. We don't usually go past the Angus fillet steak which is superb and always beautifully cooked. The fine food is supported by excellent, attentive staff led by Sarah as front of house. However we did mention on booking that this was a birthday celebration meal and while we didn't expect a lot, a happy birthday wish on arrival would have made this birthday girl's evening!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We waited 2 hours before our main course arrived. The others in the party had entrees but I didn't. No-one approached us to refresh our drinks. My partner's steak was the wrong type. We had booked but the restaurant was packed so there was not enough staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
253 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A step above the rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Friends we hadn't seen for years were in town. Wifey and I chose the Aberdeen because we wanted to show them a good time. We weren't disappointed. The ambience was excellent, my wife asked for, and received, good advice on the wine, food service was nicely timed, the food was as expected, a great choice and cooked to perfection. For a Monday night it was quite busy with a good cross-section of people. I felt we might have been a little rushed in selecting our drinks and food.. but maybe we took longer than we realised as we caught up on what we'd all been doing in the past 4 or so years. Prices were very good for the quality of food we were given. I titled this review 'A step above the rest' for good reasons. Everything was that little bit more professional than we usually experience. It is especially pleasing to have a 'thank you' responded to with 'you are welcome' rather than 'no worries'.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MerlinBlaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aberdeen also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing