We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't return in a hurry”
Review of Aberdeen

Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Wouldn't return in a hurry”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went out for dinner with a few friends a couple of weeks back. I was very disappointed. The food, although was of a very high quality, was not cooked well at all. I ordered my steak medium, and was cooked very, very well done (dry and hard to eat). It also happened to be a night when there were a few large work Christmas parties on - would have been good to know when booking as couldn't hear each other speak! It also took basically until our entrees were served for the wine to be brought out (guessing that they forgot), and then within 5 minutes of finishing our entrees the mains were served. Would have been nice to have been able to sit for a while between courses. There are definitely a few other restaurants we would prefer to dine at before returning to Aberdeen.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlu31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    125
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Aberdeen is where we like to go when we've got something extra special to celebrate. The food is superb, the service is fantastic. Yes, the prices are up there but you get what you pay for :)

Helpful?
Thank cassierowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good but not sensational.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We read the raves and so ordered the steaks. Mine came cooked medium to well instead I'd medium rare, so that was disappointing. The bearnaise sauce was good. The vegetables were either overlooked (the green beans) or undercooked (the broccoli) And the creamed spinach wasn' enjoyed by any in our group. Ambiance was nice and service was excellent and friendly. This place was good, but not great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bit ordinary”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went for lunch and we were two of only four guests. Food was OK but that's about it. Service a bit over the top but maybe that was because they weren't busy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

amazing food! a bit on the pricey side of things but well worth it if you feel like splashing out. I went with a big party and we sat out the back, nice atmosphere and the staff are very on top of things.

Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aberdeen also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing