We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

When looking for accomodation in Palmerston Nth, on the web, I liked the fact that when I rang
the 0800 number it was Roselle that answered the ph and was very helpful with my request.
She gave us a better price than any of the web sites could offer.
Both her and Pete were very friendly, helpful and professional. The room was very clean and
tidy with the three seperate beds we requested for our two night stay. It was quiet even though
next to a road, we all would recommend this hotel to others and would definitly stay here
again. 10 min stroll to the square and food shops, fantastic!!!! Thankyou for making our
trip to Palmerston so easy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us. The double glazing does definitely help lessen any road noise, while still enjoying the convenience of being so close to town!

Please come and see us again! We really enjoyed meeting you and you family.

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
16
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Roselle and Pete are professional and more importantly, normal friendly human beings. Their establishement is clean comfortable and centrally based. They offer a free gym session that includes a pool, spa pool, hydroslide. They also have a free golf game at the wonderful Manawatu Golf course. Here is the winner, they have full digital tv available (Sky), I don't know of any other motel that offers this service at this price. I simply would not stay anywhere else.

Cheers
Kev from ASSA ABLOY

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Assaabloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Wow, what a nice review! It is our pleasure to be friendly and we do enjoy meeting our guests. We provide the free golf (4 passes) from 1st October to 31st March each year and one gym pass throughout the year (you can use this and return inside two hours).

We are glad you enjoy our 50+ Sky channels. It means there is a better chance there is something you will like watching!

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Not great on parking space but our 2 bedroom unit was very spacious with the beds being 1 king and 1 queen. Our sleep was good and the walk to town was short. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
We appreciate your comments and we are glad you enjoyed staying in our spacious two bedroom unit.

Our carpark has 16 carparks and 14 units so we feel our carparking is more than enough for our property. However, we have noted your comments and we are carefully managing car parks per guest.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

got a friendly welcome right from the time i rang to make the enquiries. I was assured that my requirements would be met, and indeed they were. I had a very comfortable stay. The rooms were clean, and were serviced everyday. The internet was available when required. Gym and swimming facilities were available on request. a wonderful experience. Very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
We are glad you found our motel like a home away from home. This means we are doing our job!

It is our pleasure to keep the rooms clean and serviced. We now have wireless internet available at reasonable prices in all our our units. Prior to this we had broadband only.

We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Our family has just enjoyed an eight night stay at Shadzz. We found and booked the motel over the internet and can highly recommend it.

Our hosts were attentive and friendly without ever being intrusive.

We had no problems with noise and loved the central location - a quick walk of one block to the shopping at the PN Plaza (which goes through to The Square - Palmerston North's city centre).

The rooms were clean and maintainted beautifully each day.

With two adults, a teenager and and an eight year old, there was plenty of room for us all. We found the kitchenette very handy and enjoyed breakfast room service and also making our own breakfast some days. We dined close by at an excellent range of restaurants, all within walking distance. We also liked that we could open windows for fresh air.

The laundry facilities were excellent and very clean.

There was ample parking at Shadzz.

Apart from the rooms being a little warm on two very hot summer evenings, there was nothing we could fault during our stay. We will definitely return for another stay at Shadzz and have already highly recommended Shadzz to other family members in Australia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYFAMILY032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you. We have noted your comment about the unusually hot summer nights in Palmerston North and we will make fans available in the rooms, for the future.

We look forward to seeing you and your relatives in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Have been staying here for a number of years and will continue for many more. Always going out of their way to accommodate us and our needs, forever going that extra mile. An absolute pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smooch_dzynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future. It is our pleasure to provide top service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kiwi Studios Motel
Kiwi Studios Motel
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre

Property: Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre
Address: 145 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Spacious, upmarket units Access units All designated non-smoking inside Units serviced daily Ample free car parking Conference Venue Modern guest laundry with new Washer and Dryer Free gym work out or swim at CLM Health & Fitness & Lido Aquatic Centre in Park Road All major credit cards accepted Free golf (at Palmerston North Golf Club-conditions apply) Portacot & High chair available Cooked / Continental breakfast delivered to your unit Same day drycleaning service Air conditioning / heat pump in 2 of our studios Chargeback & delivery services from most city Restaurants Snack / beverage selection for sale in rooms BBQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing