We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Proprietors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed here and highly recommend. We were on a motorcycle and they kept it secure by putting it in their garage for us which we were well impressed by as 95% of places do not offer so. Rooms are nice and clean and have a spa bath and the motel is a 10 minute walk only into town to The Sqaure where all the restaurants are situated. AND the restaurant you ust try is Bethanys in the square - you will not be disappointed...the owner Reuben is just amazing gave us personalised service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesignerLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2008

We travelled as a group and booked 10 units. The rooms were fantastic. Big, spacious, clean and welcoming. The hosts couldn't have been any more helpful, they were really great. The big spa baths and large shower were a huge bonus. We were all on motorcycles and the owners were only to happy to make us feel safe and secure about having them outside. The lodge is within easy walking distance to town. Would come back again indeed. I think some of my friends already have actually. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

In march 2007 my Husband, Our 7 Year Old Son and I stayed at the Chancellor Motor Lodge and Conference Centre in Palmerston North for 3 nights while my husband was at a work Conference which was held there.

It was a really good experience, we were given a warm welcome when we arrived and were told that if we needed extra of the complimentry milk they would happily give it to us! That doesnt happen often when staying at Motels/Hotels/Motor Lodges.

The unit was really clean, the towels were nice and fluffy as well as plentiful. There was plenty of parking and we were given bubble bath as well to use in the spa bath.

We ordered breakfast as well which was really nice and beautifully presented.

The people who owned the Motor Lodge were just SO friendly to us, and they even gave us complimentry use of the washing machine and drier, when it is usually $5.00 to use. They were really lovely people.

The Motor Lodge was so clean that outside the doors, it is cobbled and the cleaners were vacumming outside on those cobbles. This Motor Lodge is Modern, Homely and very clean, they have little outdoor areas at the back of the units with a small outdoor table and chairs which was a nice touch. They also had outdoor chairs at the front of our unit which our son often sat on to blow bubbles with his bubble fun set!

Another good point about this Motor Lodge is it is within walking distance to Palmerston North City, my Son and I went for a walk into The City each day.

My only complaint about The Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre is that the walls are paper thin and we could hear talking in the Unit next to ours as well as the TV going, and it was really clear.

But it is definatly a nice place to stay if you want to stay somewhere modern and clean with friendly owners and close to the City!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Minnie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones con balcón permiten salir a tomar aire o sol cuando los días lo permiten. Son mas l...
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _pmontald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillen S, Owner at Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.6 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fitzherbert Regency Motor Lodge
Fitzherbert Regency Motor Lodge
#7 of 35 in Palmerston North
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre

Address: 131 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range: $99 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our suites are spacious and stylish, extra touches like private balconies and spa baths will make you feel special. Corporate, leisure and “romantic getaway”. Guests all comment on our friendly environment and pleasant accommodation. “Fantastic room, the customer service is perfect. Felt very welcomed and looked after. Thanks for a great getaway." Our central location enables you to leave your car and take a comfortable walk to the city centre. Massey University is a five minute drive or catch the shuttle bus which goes past our gate. The 30-seat, air-conditioned function venue may be ideal for your event.There are wonderful cafes, restaurants and bars in the nearby CBD serving ethnic food, traditional New Zealand fare with either casual or fine-dining options. A number of restaurants deliver meals to your room or you may prefer to dine out and take advantage of charge-back facilities we offer. “Really loved it here, have sampled many in Palmerston and this is my favourite, will come again.”"This is the cleanest, tidiest motel I have stayed at in New Zealand, and the rooms are so spacious. I will definitely be staying here again." (Richard, Vero Insurance 2012) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing