We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for sports events”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Auckland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location for sports events”
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Good accom very close to the centre of town, lots of places to eat. Close to the major sports grounds

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricketfanBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
18
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Our hostess avised us on arrival she had taken our 7!/2 drive into consideration when selecting our room on the side of the building that had received all day sun so that it was warm as soon as we entered the room. We are quite fussy about our bed and I must report this was possibly the very best bed so giving us the best nights sleep we've had away from home. We noticed a small amount of water on the bathroom floor and our hostess immediately offered us another room but cleaned up the water straightaway.
Absolutely 5 minutes walking distance from the square and only 3 minutes to the nearest supermarket and shopping mall yet private enough to seem as if we were in the country. This motel is amazing for nearly no road noise even though it is on one of the main roads out of town. Breakfast was great also.
After arriving home we were sent a delightful gift that was totally unexpected of a discount voucher that we can spend if we go there again or pass to a friend to use.
This was just a wonderful finishing touch to a really great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotelOwners, KIm & Brendan - Owners at Fitzherbert Castle Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2009
Many thanks for your recent review of our property.
Feedback is an extremely important to us as it enables us to benchmark where we are at any given time & what we may (or may not) need to do to improve the experience of our guests.
We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay not only with us but also in Palmerston North and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We are great believers in the age old adage ‘if you enjoyed your stay, tell your friends, if you had a problem, tell us’. We're glad you told everyone. Regards, Kim & Brendan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
243 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

I had a one night stop over on my way from a conference. The motel looked rather dated with clean, but old carpet and oldish furnishings. The bed was very soft and as I turned down the sheets, a large spider came from under the covers.
There was some noise between rooms and some highway noise even though I was ina back room. It was ok, but nothing to rave about

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank aus_gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerston north
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

I stayed in the excutive suite and i had my birthday here and it was great it was a hugh room with a kitchenette and had enough couches to
accommodate everyone and we had a ball and my friends often ask the name of the place so stay there when they come to town. lovely people
that run it aswell went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. and so close to town it was great!!!

  • Liked — the room was fantastic and huge
  • Disliked — the stairs when i was drunk!!!!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzherbert Castle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzherbert Castle Motel

Property: Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Address: 124 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fitzherbert Castle Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation conveniently located within easy walking distance of the city centre, conference venues, Palmerston North's cafe & boutique quarter, the Plaza, Victoria Esplanade, theatres & art galleries. Wireless Broadband Internet, on-site parking, CCTV, charge back facilities from city restaurants, spa baths in most units, all units designated non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzherbert Castle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing