We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Coachman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Coachman
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Coachman excelled in two ways. One was the meals in the restaurant, which were world class, the second was the outstanding service of the staff, who went beyond the call of duty to help us. Our son stayed in the room playing computer games while we went to a 'kids-free wedding' and the night manager took it as her responsibility to check that he was safe and knew where to go/who to call for room service/ who to call if he had any issues. The following day we also put some laundry on and did a bit of shopping, and came back to find it had been taken out of the dryer and folded ready for us to take to our room. The night managers were very pleasant and the waiting staff did a great job. As others might mention, the Coachman is an established hotel in the Palmerston North area and has some age to it, but we found it exceptionally clean and well provisioned. About the only thing we could fault was the garaging, which is under the building. It looks as if it is being updated at present, and there was a bit of water under foot, the bays are a bit narrow, but still it's all serviceable. Oh...the breakfast menu could be improved a little with the addition of bircher muesli, imho, but that'd spoil us COMPLETELY. :D

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    84
    46
    17
    1
See reviews for
38
58
14
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
213 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This visit was a night's accommodation from the Manager as we had had such a bad experience with our last trip. This night was all we had hoped for. We stayed in a deluxe room and were most impressed with it. The decor was a bit dated but so are we so we enjoyed it. I loved the spa bath with a hand-rail and as the shower was also over the bath, this was a really good thought on behalf of the designer. Great meal in the restaurant and I couldn't fault my loin of lamb - just delicious and so tender. Thank you for giving us the chance to find out that we will go back to the hotel and forget about our bad experience!

Room Tip: Stay away from the dining room area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've twice stayed at the Coachman Hotel in the last couple of months and both times the experience was very good. The rooms were slightly dated, but were clean and comfortable. The desk was on the small side but there was free wifi. They also have a private spa available, just have to book it at the front desk. The attached restaurant, was also very good. The location is fairly central and is only a 5-10 minute walk to the square and surrounding shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A lovely modernized hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms and a good menu. I'd stay again for sure, all the facilities you could ever need. Espresso coffee is quite ordinary however, not worth the extra cost at the extensive breakfast buffet. 45 minute walk to Massey University.

Room Tip: Try for a room out the back, traffic noise can intrude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJKingNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went there for high tea on 18th August 2013 with a team from work. It was an absolutely amazing experience. The atmosphere and food was amazing. The pastry chef is such an amazing cook. Everything was so authentic and the young girl playing the piano was very talented. We can't wait to be able to go again next year. Thank you Coachman Hotel for a wonderful afternoon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed three times and it is the nicest "Motel" I have stayed in a country town-VERY Clean-nice folks, great service and great food-AND did I double mention-very clean!!!!
Yummy little cookies with the coffee, A HUGE bath and shower and did I mention VERY Clean-loved it again on the thir time!!
And a cool little gym close to the river if you like to run and very close to all in town

Room Tip: Pick the suite-very fun and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having had a great family meal at the restaurant some time ago, I thought this would be a great place to stay next time I was in "Palmerston North, how wrong I was. The room was very basic, every item we touched was either not working or was broken, had a cold bed that night, the carpet was very lumpy thought we were walking on stones,some of the light switches weren't working, bed was also lumpy not sure what was going on not a very good night sleep.Bedspread had stains on it, did not find the room all that clean, not blaming the cleaners, as this might be a cost cutting by management, one night stay was enough for us both.

Room Tip: Look at room before you take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinandmorika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I have looked into the history of your stay and have communicated the issues that you raised with all departments that were involved. We want you to rest assured that we are one of the top properties in Palmerston North and our goal is for 100% guest satisfaction.

If you are travelling through Palmerston North again in the future please consider giving us another chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.6 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#18 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Property: Hotel Coachman
Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing