We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Coachman
Nearby Hotels
$125
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Destiny on Fitzherbert(Palmerston North)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerston North Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
$91
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aubyn Court Spa Motel(Palmerston North)
$107
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Studios Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
$75
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harringtons Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
$82
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzherbert Castle Motel(Palmerston North)
$85
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
62
91
56
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
91
56
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifionsite restaurantspa poolbuffet breakfasthappily stay here againsized roommain buildingmini barcity centrestayed two nightsbusiness tripaccommodationroomyunitconferencenzrates
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 230 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've twice stayed at the Coachman Hotel in the last couple of months and both times the experience was very good. The rooms were slightly dated, but were clean and comfortable. The desk was on the small side but there was free wifi. They also have a private spa available, just have to book it at the front desk. The attached restaurant, was also very good. The location is fairly central and is only a 5-10 minute walk to the square and surrounding shops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A lovely modernized hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms and a good menu. I'd stay again for sure, all the facilities you could ever need. Espresso coffee is quite ordinary however, not worth the extra cost at the extensive breakfast buffet. 45 minute walk to Massey University.

Room Tip: Try for a room out the back, traffic noise can intrude.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJKingNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went there for high tea on 18th August 2013 with a team from work. It was an absolutely amazing experience. The atmosphere and food was amazing. The pastry chef is such an amazing cook. Everything was so authentic and the young girl playing the piano was very talented. We can't wait to be able to go again next year. Thank you Coachman Hotel for a wonderful afternoon

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Aaron847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed three times and it is the nicest "Motel" I have stayed in a country town-VERY Clean-nice folks, great service and great food-AND did I double mention-very clean!!!!
Yummy little cookies with the coffee, A HUGE bath and shower and did I mention VERY Clean-loved it again on the thir time!!
And a cool little gym close to the river if you like to run and very close to all in town

Room Tip: Pick the suite-very fun and great value
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having had a great family meal at the restaurant some time ago, I thought this would be a great place to stay next time I was in "Palmerston North, how wrong I was. The room was very basic, every item we touched was either not working or was broken, had a cold bed that night, the carpet was very lumpy thought we were walking on stones,some of the light switches weren't working, bed was also lumpy not sure what was going on not a very good night sleep.Bedspread had stains on it, did not find the room all that clean, not blaming the cleaners, as this might be a cost cutting by management, one night stay was enough for us both.

Room Tip: Look at room before you take it
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinandmorika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I have looked into the history of your stay and have communicated the issues that you raised with all departments that were involved. We want you to rest assured that we are one of the top properties in Palmerston North and our goal is for 100% guest satisfaction.

If you are travelling through Palmerston North again in the future please consider giving us another chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews