We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Times WOWed at The Coachman”
Review of Hotel Coachman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coachman
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Three Times WOWed at The Coachman”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed three times and it is the nicest "Motel" I have stayed in a country town-VERY Clean-nice folks, great service and great food-AND did I double mention-very clean!!!!
Yummy little cookies with the coffee, A HUGE bath and shower and did I mention VERY Clean-loved it again on the thir time!!
And a cool little gym close to the river if you like to run and very close to all in town

Room Tip: Pick the suite-very fun and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    88
    48
    17
    1
See reviews for
39
60
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having had a great family meal at the restaurant some time ago, I thought this would be a great place to stay next time I was in "Palmerston North, how wrong I was. The room was very basic, every item we touched was either not working or was broken, had a cold bed that night, the carpet was very lumpy thought we were walking on stones,some of the light switches weren't working, bed was also lumpy not sure what was going on not a very good night sleep.Bedspread had stains on it, did not find the room all that clean, not blaming the cleaners, as this might be a cost cutting by management, one night stay was enough for us both.

Room Tip: Look at room before you take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinandmorika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I have looked into the history of your stay and have communicated the issues that you raised with all departments that were involved. We want you to rest assured that we are one of the top properties in Palmerston North and our goal is for 100% guest satisfaction.

If you are travelling through Palmerston North again in the future please consider giving us another chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We bought a special night including the room, 3 course meal for 2 and breakfast for 2 the next morning.

We were contacted and asked if we would mind being upgraded to a suite as the restaurant was full that night with special functions and we could be served in our rooms. Not a problem and we enjoyed the upgrade and meal UNTIL the restaurant disgorged its diners into the foyer and with the noise coming up the stairwell it did seem as though the party was in our suite!

I lasted until 12.10am before complaining and it did stop about 3/4 of an hour later. By this time I was wide awake and furious. George is hearing impaired so he slept through the lot!!

Had lovely breakfast and left much earlier than intended.

I wrote to the Manager who had already been advised of the night's happenings and he apologised and we received a voucher for a free night in a deluxe room to be used within the next 6 months.

Well done Coachman for accepting that the bad night was not in line with your usual standard and making the best out of a bad time. We will continue to each at your restaurant at lunchtime and use the voucher in weeks to come.

Thank you.

Room Tip: As far away from the restaurant as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It's been a while since we came to the Coachman but we always enjoyed coming here. We have stayed at the Hotel in the past but as we live here now we only go to the restaurant. This place is very convenient to stay at as it is close to town and it has it's own restaurant. It also has an underground parking area. The rooms were always clean and tidy. Service was great and if we ever move away from here and needed to come to Palmerston North we would certainly come here and stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
302 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here as part of our cycling Tour of NZ, thus I'm unsure of the nightly room rates.

It served our purposes fully. The room was sizeable allowing us to store our bikes in and still have room to move. The bathroom was smart although on closer inspection the wallpaper was peeling somewhat but that's just being picky.

Our room overlooked the small pool. Entrance was via patio windows which was a little unusual. I struggled to find light switches in this room but once I did (on the patio door frame!) the room was brightly lit.

One big plus was free wifi. In this day and age why can't more places offer this simple convenience? Big thumbs up for that Coachman.

The hotel is conveniently located for restaurants and shops. Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is very nice inside belying its external appearance. On arrival we were given a suite in the motel bit of the hotel which was so awful that I asked to be moved. The hotel part was full, but we were given the option of the garden villa, a two bedroom cottage in the grounds for a reduced rate. This was much nicer than the motel room and so we stayed. Dinner in the restaurant was the highlight of the stay and was very nice and good value, but breakfast was nothing special and poor compared to other places we have stayed in in NZ. If I was to stay again I would be sure to book a room in the main hotel although I would be looking forward to a good dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Ann

I'm sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your initial room assignment. We are in the process of updating all Family Motel Units, this will ensure all future guests will not have your same experience.

I am very happy that you were pleased with your evening meal.

Thanks for your feedback as it helps us improve the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed in a studio unit which had a large king bed and a single. Room had plenty of space and a large desk area. Free wifi was great. Bathroom was spacious and shower good, though shower head might have been a little low if you were a very tall person. The night I arrived there were some indications that the room had not been cleaned thoroughly, little bits of rubbish in the corner, soap packet left in shower and a few hairs on the bathroom floor, but the rest of the room was tidy and after servicing the next day all these items were gone. Walking distance to many eating options, the mall and downtown Palmerston North. Parking outside the unit. Used the spa pool as well and there is a well equipped gym within the complex. Room service available but did not try this. Bed was comfortable. Limited sky tv. Movie channel some sports and Disney.

Room Tip: I was in unit 6 which was back from the road. Never noticed any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariceNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
#13 of 25 in Palmerston North
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Property: Hotel Coachman
Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing