We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Suprise”
Review of Hotel Coachman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coachman
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in a motel unit for 3 nights. We found the room tidy and clean and had appeared to recently been renovated. It was very well price and offers a swimming pool, spa and a cosy restaurant. I found the staff very helpful with assisting with my requests.
The only low lights were the Tv in our room was on the small side with limited channels and car parking was tight.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachies80a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 222 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a very old and beautiful "heritage looking" hotel/motel, but the bathrooms in both motel and hotel rooms need serious attention to eliminate/clean mold in grouting. Also no kitchen/kitchenette to talk about in motel units. Adverting with photos of kitchen/kitchenette and rooms needed. We were booked for one night only.
Booked a motel and was transferred to a hotel room due to dissapointment. My daughter and I are on special diets and the food we had taken with us could not be placed in the fridge in the hotel room as it was so tiny. The bathroom and mold in grouting was no better than the motel room (see photos). Decor in motel room was below star status as advertsied.
Exterior/entrance/reception/restaurant and dining/conference/parking facilities etc are of amn exceptionally high standard. Sad to see the rooms and motel units being the downfall of this hotel. It is very well placed locationwise and within walking distance to city centre square. Hotel room was tastefully decorated and the bed linen spotless and beds comfortable. Small air conditioning unit was working but did not give adequate cooling to the room. No complimentary newspaper was offered and I was not asked if I enjoyed my stay upon leaving.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picky-Feb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanPN, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

The rooms you mentioned in your review will be discussed with the maintenance and housekeeping departments to let them know grouting has been identified by a customer as an item that we need to address. Replacing the sealant around our bathrooms is a normal procedure and I will have all units re-checked to see if they require attention. Thanks for staying, and we hope you will return to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for one night in a studio room close to the pool. The room was decorated nicely it did smell a bit musky but it was fine. It had a queen bed and a single for my son, we could done with a couple of extra pillows as were a bit short but I'm sure if we had rung housekeeping they would have accomodated us. The shower had really good water pressure. We didn't get to the hotel till late and the pool was a bit cold by then as unfortunately it isn't a heated pool. The pool complex is quite nice and did look quite inviting. The spa pool cover was a bit old and could do with replacing. We paid $136.00 which included breakfast for myself husband and son. The breakfast was nice, we requested what we wanted cooked as they didn't have cooked buffet as it was a week day and not super busy however
they did have all the continental breakfast food, juices and coffee out. The cooked food arrived and there was a lot of it but it was of a good standard. The staff were friendly and I would say it was a 4 star hotel and rate it between a average and very good rating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tweety00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A mixture of hotel and motel accommodation, Coachman caters for all. It is close to town, walkable distance to the restaurants and supermarkets, and about 30 mins walk from the university on the main road. The staff are great - always pleasant. The rooms are also very clean with the support staff (cleaners) being brilliant if one makes a wee spill (ooops). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you do not mind steps - the motel rooms are better on the upper floor. Many business people stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPeeps16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Rooms in the hotel are very clean, free wifi is great and staff are generally by welcoming. I am not sure that it is a 4.5 star place - the carpets on the stairs were old and worn and there were holes in the carpet. Parking is complimentary and the is an on site day spa and hairdressers. Good location as walking distance to town, cafes, supermarkets and handy to Massey University. We have stayed here twice before.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank drtgfnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a nice stay here, the rooms are clean and roomy! We stayed in the hotel section and we we very happy with the free wi-fi. The staff on the front desk and cleaning are very helpful and friendly also. Like another reviewer, I found the shower panel to be strange, it only goes 3/4 of the way across so all the water floods the floor. Maybe it's for wheelchair access? I don't know but at least the floor gets washed every day! I also noticed a hole in the carpet at the foot of the main stairs. That should be fixed as soon as it started to appear as it looks shabby and is seen by everyone.

The location is good and even though we had a front room there was no traffic noise. There is also a service station on the opposite corner that has groceries, snacks and coffee, etc. It's also an easy walk into the town. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed in the hotel before, which was fine, this time opted for a motel. The bathroom had been refurbished relatively recently, the bedroom lacked any privacy, the small kitchenette was serviceable but distinctly odd. The room (23, I think) simply was not clean. The parking is tight. The bed was not comfortable and I had to select my pillow carefully as some were well past their appropriate usage. The staff at the hotel are great ... I would not stay in the motel again.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel, give the motel a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BS09032014A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanPN, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. Our motel units are currently under renovation, so within the next few month all of the units should have been upgraded noticeably. We hope that we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.6 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
#12 of 25 in Palmerston North
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range: $73 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing