We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, shabby motels”
Review of Hotel Coachman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coachman
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed in the hotel before, which was fine, this time opted for a motel. The bathroom had been refurbished relatively recently, the bedroom lacked any privacy, the small kitchenette was serviceable but distinctly odd. The room (23, I think) simply was not clean. The parking is tight. The bed was not comfortable and I had to select my pillow carefully as some were well past their appropriate usage. The staff at the hotel are great ... I would not stay in the motel again.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel, give the motel a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BS09032014A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanPN, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. Our motel units are currently under renovation, so within the next few month all of the units should have been upgraded noticeably. We hope that we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 222 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our first floor room has a queen and a single bed (a bit strange) and is clean but a bit faded and shabby around the edges. The most disconcerting part is that you can see a thin line of light from the room in the hallway along the length of the door, as though a flimsy piece of wood was fitted poorly next to the door. It doesn't give me a feeling of security, and there's no safe in the room. The bathroom is compact but fine, and appears to have been updated with a large glass bowl sink, but the high faucet is situated so close to the edge of the sink that it's hard to get your hands under the water unless you turn it on full force, in which case it splashes all over. Fine fixtures poorly executed. The shower is good, and the amenities are nice. The room has a refrigerator and separate tea and coffee makers, Toshiba flat screen TV. The front desk can be helpful depending on who you get. When we checked in and asked about the nearest pharmacy, we were directed by an unknowledgeable young man to a discount big box store first, and told if not there than we had to go a long ways to get to one. As it turned out we stumbled on our own into a pharmacy at the Mall only 1 1/2 blocks away. On the other hand, the ladies on duty the next day were quite helpful in making dinner reservations, checking on museum hours, etc. the hotel is an easy 5 minute walk to the main square of P alters ton North. All in all not a bad place to stay, the bed is comfortable, but not high end luxury.

Room Tip: I don't think there's an elevator, so stick to the first floor. It's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent two nights mid-week while on a business trip and found the accommodation pleasant and and the staff helpful. The room overlooked the garden, was quiet and had everything I needed. Free wireless internet, plunger coffee available in the room along with the usual amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reb2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had to take a hotel room as the cheaper motel rooms were fully booked. This was a lucky break. The hotel rooms are roomy, clean and comfortable even though they are darkish due to being (newly) furnished in BROWN! It did live up to its four stars and the bonus was the excellent staff in all respects. Examples: they made me a frothy hot chocolate with the package from my room, even adding marshmallows, at no charge; and happily, when I smashed the coffee plunger by accident and left an apologetic note, I not only recieved a new plunger but a delightful note and an inquiry to check I hadn't cut myself; and no request was too much trouble. My firend had a motel room (also furnished in BROWN, which did have a mini kitchen but was definitely not up to the hotel room standard. Pleased I lucked out!!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are quieter and have a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a very good night and enjoyed the free internet access. Staff were very attentive and the room was clean and comfortable. Great having the underground carparking. Convienient to town, an easy walk. The restaurant was great and I enjoyed the meal for both dinner and breakfast. I look forward to my return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesFCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Coachman is a lovely hotel overall. It is clean and tidy, everything works, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the house restaurant is quite reasonable. The rooms are a good sixe, and the beds comfortable with good pillows.
But... Coachman shares one of my favourite gripes; lights above the bed powerful enough to dehydrate your eyeballs in a flash, but no lighting above the luggage rack. Why do hotels and motels so often do this??
My only other gripe is that a while back the shower curtains (shower over bath) were replaced by trendy glass panels. Now this may save on washing of curtains, but the result is the bathroom turns into a paddling pool. I had to use three towels to dry the floor (and that didn't do a complete job!!)

If they were to sort the lighting and go back to shower curtains, I'd consider five stars to be a real possibility.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanPN, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

I have passed on the suggestions that you made concerning the lighting and shower panels to our property improvement committee . They will be discussed at their next meeting.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many features that Hotel Coachman offers and we will strive to raise your rating to the 5 stars you mentioned. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I took advantage of an offer of a hotel room, breakfast, bottle of wine and a wine with dinner - great value and would certainly go again - forget the fake architecture and enjoy the amenities such as the hot pool and restaurant - the breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. The dinner was delicious and good value. The room has all the necessary amenities including a free biscuit!

Room Tip: Choose one not facing the road as it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeanutWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.6 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#12 of 25 in Palmerston North
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range: $78 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing